Taarnby Curling Club will host this year's European C-Division Championships ©WCF

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has confirmed that this year's European C-Division Curling Championships will take place at the Taarnby Curling Club in Copenhagen.

Men's and women's teams will compete between April 11 and 18 in the Danish capital city. 

Two sides from each tournament - the winners and the runners-up - will be promoted to the B-Division Championships which will take place in Estonia's capital Tallinn in November.

The news continues a good period for Danish curling, with the country awarded the 2019 Women's World Championships last month, which will take place in Silkeborg.

Danish teams have also qualified for both the men's and women's competitions at the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics.

Danish curling is enjoying a fruitful period ©Getty Images
Danish curling is enjoying a fruitful period ©Getty Images

Taarnby has experience hosting major events after staging the 2016 World Junior Championships and the World Senior Championships in 2006 and 2012.

A number of other major tournaments have also been held there.

"The announcement of the European C-Division for 2018 completes our roster of events for the 2017-2018 season," said WCF President Kate Caithness. 

"The local Organising Committee will draw from their vast experiences hosting international curling events to put on another great show for the athletes, officials and supporters who will travel to Denmark in April."

Johannes Jensen, the chairman of the Local Organising Committee, added: "It is a great pleasure for Taarnby Curling Club to be involved with the World Curling Federation in being the venue to host the European C-Division Curling Championships. 

"We are looking forward to welcoming all to Taarnby once again."