Four editions of the Teqball World Championships have been held to date. 

The next edition is due to be staged in Nuremberg in Germany between November 23 and 27, 2022.

This will be the first time that a German city is hosting teqball’s premier event.

The Kia Metropol Arena has been selected as the venue.


Hungary and Romania celebrated success at the inaugural edition of the Teqball World Championships in Budapest in July 2017.

The hosts were expected to be among the favourites to win singles and doubles competitions at the tournament, with teqball having been invented by Hungarians.

Ádám Blázsovics emerged as the winner of the singles competition, winning an all-Hungarian final against Máté Szolga.

Romania’s Zsolt Lázár claimed the bronze medal.

The home nation were denied victory in the doubles competition, with Romania beating Hungary in the gold medal match.

The top three was completed by Serbia.

Retired footballers William Gallas of France and Nigeria’s Nwankwo Kanu were among those in attendance on the finals evening, with the pair participating in a gala indoor football game.

The first edition of the Teqball World Championships was attended by 20 nations, including Brazil, England, Japan, The Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.

Back to top


The second edition of the Teqball World Championships took place in French city Reims in October 2018.

The main hall of the Complexe Sportif René Tys hosted the competition.

Doubles champions Bogdan Marojevic and Nikola Mitro of Montenegro were awarded $20,000 (£15,400/€17,500), while singles winner Bárna Szécsi of Romania took home $10,000 (£7,700/€8,800).

There was disappointment for Hungary in both finals with Ádám Blázsovics and Csaba Bányik losing to Marojevic and Mitro and Árpád Sipos falling to defeat at the hands of Szécsi.

Romania overcame Brazil in the doubles bronze medal game. 

Among the special guests at the event was ex-French footballer Robert Pires, a winner of the FIFA World Cup in 1998 and UEFA European Championship in 2000.

Pires was joined by fellow teqball ambassador and former France team-mate William Gallas.

Also in attendance was ex-Portuguese footballer Simão Sabrosa and French freestyle footballer Séan Garnier.

As well as the competition, there was a teqball smash contest, a teqball show, a VIP tournament, a gala dinner, an awards ceremony and a closing party.

Back to top


The Teqball World Championships 2019 took place in the Hungarian capital city, Budapest, in December.

Hungarian Adam Blazsovics won the singles title, and also the doubles gold with Csaba Banyik. 

The gold medal in mixed games was taken home by the Brazilians Natalia Guitler and Marcos Viera. 

The global tournament featured 160 athletes from 58 different countries, including Maor Ankona of Israel who was just nine-years-old and playing in the mixed doubles for the first time. 

He joined 50-year-old doubles player Indrit Bejtaga of Italy who was the oldest athlete at the tournament, and 22 female athletes, the most of any World Championships so far. It was one of the most diverse and inclusive international sports events in the world.

This year saw a 150 per cent increase in the number of athletes entered since the first tournament in 2017 and 10 more nations added to the draw including first timers Djibouti, Argentina, Norway, Ivory Coast and the Cook Islands.

Back to top


Polish city Gliwice hosted the 2021 edition of the Teqball World Championships between December 8 and 11.

Matches took place at the Gliwice Arena as the flagship event returned for the first time since the start of the coronavirus pandemic.

Hungary won both of the singles titles, with Ádám Blázsovics defending his men's crown and Anna Izsák winning the women's event.

In the men's doubles, Bogdan Marojevic and Nikola Mitro of Serbia were the winners, while Brazil's Rafaella Gomes Fontes and Natalia Guitler took the women's doubles title.

Csaba Bányik and Zsanett Janicsek continued a good tournament for Hungary with mixed doubles success.

Back to top

World Rankings

FITEQ has World Rankings for singles, doubles and mixed doubles, based on World Ranking points attained in official FITEQ events. FITEQ publishes regular updates to its World Rankings, which are used determine the seeding of players into tournaments.

As of May 2020, doubles and mixed doubles players are ranked individually instead of being ranked as pairs.

FITEQ also publishes regular updates to its Prize Money list, featuring the Top 20 of All Time, as well as yearly lists.