Top seeds Japan have been drawn into Group 1A for the 2019 BWF Sudirman Cup ©BWF

Ten-time winners China have been drawn alongside India and Malaysia for the Badminton World Federation (BWF) Sudirman Cup, due to be held in Nanning in China from May 19 to 26.

The tournament, a global mixed team event held every two years, will feature 31 teams.

They were today drawn into four groups at an event in Nanning attended by officials from the Chinese Badminton Association, the host city, sponsors and media.

China, who are seeded second, will be favourites to win Group 1D but will face a tough challenge from India and Malaysia.

Meanwhile, top seeds Japan have been drawn in Group 1A with Thailand and Russia, while Indonesia, who won the inaugural tournament in 1989, have been placed with reigning European champions Denmark and England in Group IB.

The draw was conducted in host city Nanning ©BWF
The draw was conducted in host city Nanning ©BWF

Group 1C features defending champions South Korea alongside Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong.

Despite being top seeds this year, Japan have never won the Sudirman Cup.

“Nanning is a fitting location for what will be another memorable edition of the Total BWF Sudirman Cup,” said BWF events director Darren Parks.

“We’re extremely excited to welcome our sport’s elite players to this great city for what will be eight days of premier badminton action.”

The top two teams from each sub-group in Group One will progress to the quarter-finals.

The other 19 teams from Groups Two, Three and Four will compete for overall placings.