Christiane Reppe won gold at her debut Para triathlon World Cup event in Portugal ©German triathlon

Paralympic cycling champion Christiane Reppe of Germany won her debut Paratriathlon World Cup event in Portugal after switching from her previous sport.

Reppe won gold in the PTWC event in Funchal after finishing with a time of 1 hour 31min 16sec on Madeira.

The German not only has a cycling gold medal from Rio 2016 but is also a four-time cycling world champion and has Paralympic medals in swimming. 

She was 11 minutes in front of second placed Sophie Taylor of Great Britain, who finished in 1:42:13.

Britain's Megan Richter was also victorious at her debut Paratriathlon World Cup event, winning the PTS4 event in 1:18:13.

She had previously won two silvers and a bronze medal at the 2018 Dublin World Para Swimming European Championships. 

Liisa Lilja of Finland won the PTS2 event in 1:31:30, with Veronika Gabitova of Russia in second with a time of 1:44:38.

The gold medal in the women's PTS5 went to Alisa Kolpakchy of Ukraine in 1:19:22, while Petra Levay of Hungary got silver in 1:24:59 and Russia's Anna Bychkova secured bronze in 1:27:42.

Amy Dixon of the United States won gold in the PTVI in 1:20:40, finishing in front of France's Annouck Curzillat in 1:21:45 and Ukraine's Vita Oleksiuk in 1:26:03.

In the men's events, Mark Conway of Britain was victorious in the PTWC after finishing in 1:16:02, four minutes ahead of Russia's Semen Radaev with 1:19:49 and five minutes in front of compatriot Josh Landmann in 1:20:05.

Christiane Reppe of Germany had won cycling gold at the Rio 2016 Olympics before switching to the Para triathlon ©Getty Images
Christiane Reppe of Germany had won cycling gold at the Rio 2016 Olympics before switching to the Para triathlon ©Getty Images

There was more success for Britain in the men's PTS2 event, where Stuart Meikle won gold in 1:21:40.  

France's Geoffrey Wersy got silver, finishing in 1:24:49, while Spain's Jose Joaquin Martinez Rincon got bronze in 1:41:27.

Jose Mendonca of Portugal was the victor in the men's PTS3, winning in 1:40:43.

China's Jiachao Wang got his third win of the season after securing victory in the men's PTS4 with a time of 1:08:47.

Russia's Andrey Tolstikov came second in 1:13:05 and Britain's Michael Taylor finished third in 1:14:10.

Anatolii Varfolomieiev of Ukraine won the men's PTVI when he got a time 1:10:28, with France’s Antoine Perel coming in 33 seconds behind him and Ukraine’s Vasyl Zakrevskyi 14 seconds further back in third.