Co-captain Steve Serio is among eight Paralympic champions named in the United States squad ©Getty Images

Eight Paralympic champions have been named among the United States' men's wheelchair basketball roster for 2017.

Governing body the National Wheelchair Basketball Association (NWBA) has selected an initial group of 14 players following a three-day training camp.

Paralympians Jared Arambula, Brian Bell, Aaron Gouge, Ian Lynch, Mike Paye, Matt Scott, Steve Serio and Jake Williams are all among the list after the Americans won the gold medal at Rio 2016 in August.

They are joined by John Boie, Sean Maloney, Ryan Neiswender, Jorge Salazar, Jorge Sanchez and Ryan Wright.

Two players will be cut from the group with the final roster due to be announced later this summer.

The US are currently preparing for this year's International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF) Americas Zonal Qualifer in Cali in Colombia.

They will need to finish in the top four to earn a spot at the 2018 IWBF World Championships in German city Hamburg.

Competition in Cali takes place between August 21 and 31.

The United States beat Spain to win the Rio 2016 title ©Getty Images
The United States beat Spain to win the Rio 2016 title ©Getty Images

"The intensity of the athletes was evident and continued to grow during the past several days, which made this a tough decision," said head coach Ron Lykins.

"I was pleased to see some of our younger athletes participate and become involved with the national team process.

"The Rio gold medalists picked up again for the first time since last September, and started to sync with each other. 

"We are going to continue to evaluate all athletes and select a team this summer that positions us for success."

The US beat Spain 68-52 to win the gold medal in Rio.

This was their first title since Seoul 1988. 

Serio and Paye were co-captains of the squad in the Brazilian city.