The medal ceremony closed an amazing Trofeo Princesa Sofia Mallorca by Iberostar. TROFEO PRINCESA SOFIA

The 53rd edition of the Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar came to a close with the medals ceremony, which marked the end of an edition with a record number of countries represented (76) and a record number of participants in an Olympic year (more than 1,100).

The event was held to honour the winners of each discipline and the overall winner, the Australian Breiana Whitehead, who added her name to the history of the great Mallorcan regatta less than four months before her participation in the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. The ceremony took place in Ses Voltes, at the foot of Palma Cathedral, after six days of intense competition on the waters of Palma Bay in the first event of the 2024 Sailing World Cup. More than 1,100 sailors from 76 countries competed in the Mallorcan event.

It is organised by the Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa (CMSAP), the Club Nàutic S'Arenal (CNA) and the Real Club Náutico de Palma (RCNP), with the collaboration of the Balearic and Spanish sailing federations and the support of the main Balearic institutions. The event was presided over by Antònia Maria Estarellas, Minister of the Presidency and Public Administration of the Government of the Balearic Islands, Francisca Lascolas, Mayoress of Llucmajor, and Llorenç Bauzà, Councillor for the Environment of the Ajuntament de Palma.

Also present were the president of the Real Federación Española de Vela, Javier Sanz; the president of the Federació Balear de Vela, Cati Darder; the president of the CNA, José Ramón Picó, the president of the CMSAP, Jesús Comas, and the commodore of the RCNP, Jorge Forteza, as well as the director of EMEA operations of the Iberostar Group, Javier Muñoz. 

The star of the event was Australian Breiana Whitehead, who was crowned the overall winner of the 53rd Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar after winning her discipline, Formula Kite Women. This is the second time that an Australian athlete has achieved this feat, after Mathew Belcher and William Ryan in 2018. 

Winners of the 53rd Trofeo Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar:

-470 Mixed: Camille Lecointre and Jeremie Mion (France). 

-49er: Diego Botín and Florian Trittel (Spain). 

-49erFX: Jana Germani and Giorgia Bertuzzi (Italy). 

-Formula Kite Men: Max Maeder (Singapore). 

-Women's Formula Kite: Breiana Whitehead (Australia). 

-ILCA 6: Mária Érdi (Hungary). 

-ILCA 7: Michael Beckett (Great Britain). 

-iQFOiL Men: Pawel Tarnowski (Poland). 

-iQFOiL Women: Mina Mobekk (Norway). 

-Nacra 17: Ruggero Tita and Caterina Banti (Italy). 

-Overall winner: Breiana Whitehead (Australia). 

The 53rd Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Mallorca by Iberostar was held from 29th March to 6th April under the joint organisation of the Club Nàutic S'Arenal, the Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa, the Real Club Náutico de Palma, the Real Federación Española de Vela and the Federación Balear de Vela, with the support of World Sailing and the main public institutions of the Balearic Islands. 

For further information, visit