Stephanie Gilmore is the first woman to win eight WSL titles ©Getty Images

Stephanie Gilmore and Filipe Toledo both outclassed Olympic champions to seal the World Surf League (WSL) titles at Lower Trestles in California.

Australia's Gilmore bettered Hawaiian Carissa Moore to become the first woman to win the WSL Championship Tour eight times, while Toledo achieved his maiden WSL crown after beating fellow Brazilian Italo Ferreira.

Moore was the favourite to seal victory in the women's event as the first seed and the reigning champion, but lost to Gilmore in the title match.

Gilmore, seeded fifth, had to beat three other surfers to earn the right to take on defending champion Moore for the title.

Gilmore took the opening heat of the final 15.00 to 10.90 before triumphing 15.23 to 11.97 in the second.

Victory reduced Gilmore to tears.

The 34-year-old's run to the final included a dramatic win over Costa Rican Brisa Hennessy, with a 6.83 wave 40 seconds from time time giving Gilmore a total of 14.76 versus Hennessy's 14.33.

Gilmore also beat Brazilian Tatiana Weston-Webb - 15.30 to 14.87 - and Johanne Defay of France - 16.83 to 10.53 - en route to the best-of-three showdown with Moore.

Meanwhile in the men's contest, Toledo capitalised on his first seeding and bye to the title match.

In beating Ferreira, Toledo became the sixth Brazilian winner of the men's WSL world title in the last nine years.

There was no winner in 2020 because of the coronavirus crisis.

Ferreira, who advanced to the final having started as the fourth seed, initially beat Japan's Olympic silver medallist Kanoa Igarashi 13.37 to 11.83 and then defeated Australia's Ethan Ewing 13.10 to 11.83.

The 2019 WSL champion next overcame Jack Robinson, also representing Australia, 16.10 to 13.30 to set up an all-Brazilian final.

Toledo won the first heat 15.13 to 14.97 before putting on a show in the second to triumph 16.50 to 14.93.