Ireen Wüst (centre) won the overall women's allround title at the ISU European Speed Skating Championships today ©Getty Images

Ireen Wüst and Kai Verbij of The Netherlands claimed the overall women's allround and men's sprint titles on the second day of action at the International Skating Union (ISU) European Speed Skating Championships.

Wüst won her 500 metres and 3,000m events to establish a lead in the women’s allround classification yesterday and built on that to secure the gold medal today, claiming two more podium finishes.

First, she won the 1,500m race in a time of 1min 56.57sec to extend her lead at the top of the standings.

Her compatriot, Antoinette de Jong, finished in second on 1:58.34 while the Czech Republic's Martina Sáblíková completed the podium in a time of 1:58.72.

Wüst could have wrapped up a comfortable allround win in the final race of the tournament, the 5,000m, but finished almost seven seconds behind Sáblíková, who won in a time of 6:57.47.

However, second proved enough for Wüst, the four-time Olympic gold medallist, who's time of 7:03.54 was enough to secure the overall win in the allround.

Yvonne Nauta of The Netherlands finished third in the 5,000m event 7:05.41 which was good enough to secure fourth overall.

Following the conclusion of all four races, Wüst finished top of the standings with a total of 161.125 points.

Sáblíková secured the silver medal on 162.288 while de Jong completed the podium after amassing 162.645.

Further Dutch success followed as Verbij secured first place in the men's sprint competition, despite failing to win a race at the Thialf Arena.

The 2016 world championship silver medallist finished fourth and second in the opening two races yesterday before adding second and third placed finishes today.

Ronald Mulder of The Netherlands won the men's 500m race today in a time of 35.08 seconds.

Kai Verbij took the overall men's sprint title ©Getty Images
Kai Verbij took the overall men's sprint title ©Getty Images

Verbij followed closely behind in second in a time of 35.12 while Russia's Alexey Yesin took third in 35.20

In the final race of the tournament, the 1,000m, Dutch skater Kjeld Nuis, who won the 500m event yesterday, took gold. 

Nuis crossed the line in a time of 1:08.85 while Nico Ihle of Germany trailed behind in second on 1:09.20.

Verbij once again made it onto the podium coming third in a time of 1:09.25.

His failure to win a race proved no barrier to Verbij, though, as he claimed the overall title with an overall points score of 139.230.

His Dutch team-mate Nuis came second on 139.700 while Ihle took bronze with a score of 139.785.

Meanwhile, the women's sprint and men's allround events got underway today.

Norway's Sindre Henriksen won the opening race of the men's allround competition in the 500m.

Henriksen won in a time of 36.30 while The Netherland's Jan Blokhuijsen, who leads the standings overnight, took the 5,000m victory in 6:16.86.

In the women's sprint competition, Russia's Olga Fatkulina took first place in the 500m event in a time of 38.16.

There was further Dutch success though as Jorien ter Mors won the 1,000m race.

Karolina Erbanova of the Czech Republic leads the standings overnight after two second place finishes today.

The men’s allround and women’s sprint tournaments are scheduled to bring the tournament to a close tomorrow.