Camila Caram and PR Sreejesh - new FIH Athletes Committee co-chairs. HOCKEY INDIA

The International Hockey Federation has announced the new FIH Athletes Committee, co-chaired by Camila Caram of Chile and PR Sreejesh of India, which will support the 'Athletes First' approach of the FIH's 'Empowerment and Engagement' strategy.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH), which celebrates its centenary in 2024, has announced revealed the members of the FIH Athletes Committee. Chile's Camila Caram will serve as Co-Chair and Athletes Committee representative on the Executive Board, while India's PR Sreejesh will also serve as Co-Chair and lead on planning and meetings, both named a few months ahead of Paris 2024.

FIH President Tayyab Ikram said: "Athletes have always been at the heart of everything the FIH does in sport. When the FIH launched its new "Empowerment and Engagement" strategy, the "Athletes First" approach was enshrined at its core, further demonstrating our commitment to the welfare and well-being of hockey players around the world." 

The FIH Athletes Committee advises the organisation on a wide range of issues and represents the interests of athletes. It develops resources and initiatives for athlete welfare, anti-doping, social media and career management. It also works with the IOC Athletes' Commission and other sports organisations to promote the development of hockey.

Co-Chair PR Sreejesh said: "Being part of the Athletes Committee itself is a great honour for me. Being appointed as a Co-Chair is an added responsibility and I'm looking forward to working with Camila, and all the members of the Athletes Committee for the betterment of hockey players around the world."

Co-Chair Camila Caram stressed: "I am very happy and honoured that my colleagues have elected me as Co-Chair. I will work hard to be the voice of the athletes and keep the channels of communication open. I thank Rogier for everything he has done for the athletes over the past years and I will follow in his footsteps to the best of my ability".

The other members of the FIH Athletes Committee are Matt Swann, Catherine Fabiano, Jacqueline Mwangi, Mohamed Mea, Juliani Mohamad Din, Marlena Rybacha and Cesar Garcia.