The Netherlands women's team celebrate after winning the European Championship for a 12th time ©Getty Images

The Netherlands retained their men’s and women’s European Hockey Championships titles in Mönchengladbach in Germany and secured Paris 2024 quota places in the process.

In the women’s final, reigning Olympic and world champions Netherlands defeated Belgium 3-1 at Warsteiner Hockey Park to win a record-extending 12th European title.

The Dutch got off to a flying start earning a 2-0 lead within the first five minutes thanks to goals from Marijn Veen and Freeke Moes.

Abi Raye pulled one back for Belgium in the 23rd minute, but three minutes later the Netherlands regained control when Joosje Burg made it 3-1.

There were no goals in the second half as Netherlands sealed another title and proved why they are something of an unstoppable force in global women’s hockey.

Hosts Germany secured the bronze medal after winning the match for third and fourth place 3-0 against England.

Sonja Zimmermann and Charlotte Stapenhorst gave Germany a 2-0 lead, before a Jette Fleschütz strike two minutes from the end sealed the win.

In the men’s final, Netherlands were also victorious, retaining their crown with a narrow 2-1 win over England.

Derck de Vilder gave the Dutch the lead inside the first ten minutes, before Duco Telgenkamp doubled their advantage during the second quarter.

Belgium, playing in white, won bronze at the men's European Hockey Championships after defeating hosts Germany ©Getty Images
Belgium, playing in white, won bronze at the men's European Hockey Championships after defeating hosts Germany ©Getty Images

Sam Ward halved the deficit for Britain in the 47th minute either side of the Dutch receiving two green cards - one for Tijmen Reyenga and one for Jonas De Geus.

A match which also featured a 40-minute delay to the start of the second half because of adverse weather, then took a late twist as Phil Roper thought he had levelled the contest for England.

However after a lengthy exchange between the officials it was ruled out for dangerous play, with two penalty strokes awarded.

Nick Bandurak missed twice from the spot after two saves by Maurits Visser, enabling the Dutch to hold on in a frantic finale.

The bronze medals went the way of Belgium, with goals from Nelson Onana and Florent Van Aubel in the first half enough to give them a 2-0 win over Germany.

Despite Arthur Van Doren receiving a yellow card just after the goal Belgium held on for the win and a place on the podium.

Both the Dutch men’s and women’s teams have sealed Paris 2024 quota places following their victories.

In a tweet at the conclusion of the tournament International Hockey Federation President Tayyab Ikram congratulated the Dutch on their success adding: "It was a great delight to see packed crowds on every single day of the competition, which is a testament to the great work done by the Organising Committee, and the immense passion for hockey that exists in Germany and all of Europe."