Stacey Allaster has been elected to the COC Board of Directors ©Getty Images

The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) has welcomed six new and returning Board members that were elected during the governing body's Annual Session meeting in Toronto.

Tennis executive Stacey Allaster is the only new addition to the Board as she will serve her first-ever term.

She is a companion of the Order of Canada and is currently the United States Tennis Association's chief executive of professional tennis and US Open tournament director.

"I'm very excited to be joining the Board of the COC," said Allaster.

"I want to thank the membership for recognising my commitment to sport and the Olympic Movement.

"During my term on the Board, I hope to further the COC's mission and vision and support its membership through the inevitable ups and downs that sport brings.

"Like every industry today, sport is changing quickly, and the COC's values-based approach to driving change in the Canadian and international sport system is something I'm proud to be joining."

Financial executive and director Ian Clarke has been re-elected to the COC Board along with David de Vlieger, Lori DeGraw, Peter Dinsdale, and Karen Rubin.

Stacey Allaster, right, is the only appointment not to have served on the COC Board of Directors in the past ©Getty Images
Stacey Allaster, right, is the only appointment not to have served on the COC Board of Directors in the past ©Getty Images

The Board, led by four-time Olympian and COC President Tricia Smith, now sits at 16.

The Session also honoured departing Board members Martha Deacon, Tony Eames, Gordon Peterson and Wayne Russell for their contribution to Canadian sport.

"Collectively, Marty, Tony, Gord and Wayne have overseen tremendous growth during their time on the COC Board of Directors," said Smith.

"I've seen first-hand how dedicated they all are to furthering the cause of sport in this country. Their contributions to the Canadian sport ecosystem cannot be overstated.

"We wish them well on their next chapters, and know they'll be cheering for Team Canada on the road to Paris 2024 and beyond.

"I also wish to welcome Stacey and extend my congratulations to our re-elected Board members.

"I know they will carry on the torch lit by the departing members to continue building a safe, inclusive and barrier-free sport system."

Brad Baker, Leanna Caron, Linda Cuthbert, Tim Powers, Teresa Resch, and Walter Sieber were also elected as class B members to serve a four-year term.