Australian captain Meg Lanning will hope to lead her side to victory in South Africa ©Getty Images

Australia will seek to secure a third successive title and sixth overall at the International Cricket Council Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Ranked world number one, holders Australia are the favourites to come out on top but their confidence is likely to have taken a hit courtesy of a shock warm-up defeat to Ireland yesterday.

Australia will begin their campaign with a clash against New Zealand at Boland Park on Saturday (February 11).

Hosts South Africa are also in Group A along with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

England are also expected to challenge Australia for top honours as they aim to clinch their first Women’s T20 World Cup crown since 2009.

They are three-time runners-up in the event, losing to Australia on each occasion and will be keen to go one better this time.

India lost by 85 runs to Australia in the 2020 final and are set to be mount a strong title bid.

They are in Group B along with England and the West Indies, who are the only other former winners, triumphing in 2018.

Ireland, boosted by their victory over Australia, and Pakistan complete Group B.

The top two in each group will advance to the semi-finals with the final scheduled to be held on February 26,

The Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, Boland Park in Paarl and St George’s Park in Gqeberha are set to host matches during the tournament.

Hosts South Africa are scheduled to take on Sri Lanka in the tournament opener in Cape Town tomorrow.