Auckland is hosting the Men's Softball World Cup ©WBSC

The Men's Softball World Cup begins tomorrow in New Zealand, with the home team seeking to win back a trophy they have lifted at five of the last eight editions of the tournament.

Reduced to 12 teams, the World Cup will begin with two six-team groups and the top three in each will advance to a super round.

From the super round, the two best sides will advance to the final - scheduled for December 4.

The Black Sox are in Group A along with defending champions Argentina, the United States, Cuba, the Philippines and the Czech Republic.

Group B contains Japan - runners-up in 2019 - Canada, Venezuela, Australia, South Africa and Denmark.

Rosedale Park in Auckland is the venue for the tournament.

New Zealand and the Czech Republic are due to meet in the opening game tomorrow, with all 12 teams set to be in action.

The host nation's matches will be on the free-to-air Whakaata Māori channel, and every game available in New Zealand on the MĀORI+ streaming platform.

Outside of New Zealand, the World Cup will be shown on the WBSC's GameTime streaming service.