Meryem Çavdar was one of three gold medallists from Turkey ©World Taekwondo

Tokyo 2020 Paralympic medallists Meryem Çavdar and Mahmut Bozteke were among the Turkish athletes to claim golds at the Paris Para Taekwondo Grand Prix where the K44 class dominated the proceedings.

Bozteke was the first of three Turkish athletes to seal victory in the French capital after besting Brazil's Paralympic champion Nathan Torquato in the men's under-63kg category.

Çavdar followed up her compatriot's win with one of her own, making it back-to-back Para Grand Prix triumphs, as she succeeded against Mexico's Jessica Garcia Quijano in the women's under-52kg category.

European champion Gamze Gürdal made it a hattrick of golds for Turkey.

Gürdal defeated Brazil's Paralympic bronze medallist Silvana Cardoso Fernandes, who she had lost to at the previous Para Grand Prix, in the women's under-57kg class.

Fatih Çelik almost made it a quartet of victories but failed to overcome Paralympic champion Juan Diego García López of Mexico in the men's under-70kg.

Para taekwondo athletes fought for gold medals at a Grand Prix in Paris ©World Taekwondo
Para taekwondo athletes fought for gold medals at a Grand Prix in Paris ©World Taekwondo

García López's fellow Paralympic gold medallists Lisa Gjessing of Denmark, and Guljonoy Naimova of Uzbekistan also fell short of wins in their finals.

Brazil's Ana Carolina Silva de Moura endured a remarkable path to victory in the women’s under-65kg after besting world champion Secil Er of Turkey, European champion and Paralympic runner-up Beth Munro and Gjessing on her path to her first Grand Prix gold.

Meanwhile, Naimova lost to Spain's Dalia Moreno in the women's over-65kg category.

The other women's final, in the under-47kg division, saw Mongolia's Enkhtuya Khurelbaatar edge Mexico’s Claudia Romero.

Israel's Asaf Yasur was among the gold medallists in the remainder of the men's events after successfully securing gold over Azerbaijan's Sabir Zeynalo in the men's under-58kg class.

Uzbekistan's Asadbek Toshtemirov bettered Kazakhstan's Nurlan Dombayev to claim the men’s under-80kg title while the United States' Evan Medell beat Croatia's Ivan Mikulić to win the men's over-80kg group.