Team captains of the 2022 Asian Netball Championships gathered for a photo shoot at the Jewel Changi Airport in Singapore before the event begins tomorrow ©Netball Singapore

The 2022 Asian Netball Championships is set to begin tomorrow with 11 countries vying for the title.

The competition which is set to be held at the OCBC Arena at Singapore Sports Hub will provide an opportunity for the top two nations to book their tickets for the 2023 Netball World Cup in Cape Town.

Scheduled to last until September 11, it will feature defending champions Sri Lanka, 2018 runner-up Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei, Japan, India, the Philippines and Maldives.

The tournament begins with an Opening Ceremony followed by the first game that will see hosts Singapore take on Japan.

Sri Lanka are the defending Asian champions ©Netball Singapore
Sri Lanka are the defending Asian champions ©Netball Singapore

The tournament is returning after four years as the 2020 edition in South Korea was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sri Lanka have won the most titles - five - since the inaugural edition in 1985.

This year’s tournament will see teams split into 4 groups (A-D) for the initial round, and the winners of each group will then make up Group E in the second group stage.

The teams placing second in round two will make up Group F and third place teams will be put in Group G.

This is followed by the semi-finals and the final.