The semi-finals are scheduled to take place tomorrow ©Getty Images

South Korea’s men’s team has joined the women’s line-up in progressing to the semi-finals of the Badminton Asia Team Championships in Shah Alam, Malaysia.

They gave Hong Kong their third defeat of the tournament by winning 4-1 in Group A.

Jeon Hyeok Jin gave South Korea the leader after beating Angus Ng Ka Long 21-17, 21-18 in the opening game.

This was followed by the doubles team Hwi Tae Kim and Kim Jaehwan winning 21-16, 21-12 against Ho Wai Lun and Yeung Ming Kok.

Hong Kong’s Chan Yin Chak gave his team some hope with a thrilling 19-21, 21-13, 21-17 victory over Joo Wan Kim.

Nevertheless, the doubles pairing of Yong Jin and Na Sung Seung gave South Korea an unassailable lead, beating Chow Hin Long and Lui Chun Wai 21-11, 21-9.

Min Seon Jung then won 21-16, 21-17 against Jason Gunawan to secure the victory.

Indonesia joins South Korea in the semi-finals beating a resistant India 4-1.

The Indians got off to a positive start against the champions with Lakshya Sen defeating Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo 21-18, 27-25.

However, Indonesia rallied back thanks to doubles pairing Leo Rolly Carnando and Daniel Marthin taking a 21-16, 21-10 win over Manjit Singh Khwairakpam and Dingku Singh Konthoujam.

Ikhsan Leonardo Imanuel handed Indonesia the lead, winning 21-13, 17-21, 21-10 against Kiran George.

Doubles pairing Muhammad Shohibul Fikri and Bagas Maulana then cruised to a 21-10, 21-10 victory against Hariharan Amsakarunan and Ruban Kumar Rethinasabapathi to secure the overall match for the title holders.

India’s Mithun Manjunath beat Yonathan Ramlie 21-12, 15-21, 21-17 in the fifth match to give his team a consolation triumph.

In Group B of the men’s tournament, 2020 finalists Malaysia saw off a challenging Japanese side 3-2 whilst Singapore cruised to a 5-0 victory over Kazakhstan, who finish bottom without a win.

On the women’s side, title holders Japan established themselves over India in the deciding match of Group Y.

Natsuki Nidaira handed Japan the lead, triumphing over Aakrarshi Kashyap 21-13, 18-21, 21-15.

Ashmita Chaliha drew India level with another three-set victory - 21-17, 10-21, 21-19 over Riko Gunji.

However, Japan went on to win the next two matches to take the overall game.

Doubles pairing Rui Hirokami and Yuna Kato defeated Khushi Gupta and Simran Singhi 21-15, 21-16, and Hina Akechi championed Tara Shah 21-12, 21-16 in the singles.

Doubles pairing Riko Gunji and Natsuki Nidaira won the fifth and final match in the tie 21-10, 21-15 against Arul Bala Radhakrishnan and Nila Valluvan.

The results mean Indonesia will play Singapore and South Korea will challenge Malaysia in the men’s semi-finals.

The Malaysia versus South Korea match-up will be replicated in the women’s last four whilst Japan are due to take on Indonesia.

The semi-finals are scheduled to be played tomorrow.