Jason Smyth won a sixth Paralympic gold medal at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

Gold medallists Katie-George Dunlevy, Eve McCrystal and Jason Smyth were amongst the honours again at Paralympics Ireland’s Tokyo 2020 Awards at Dublin Castle.

At an event organised by Paralympics Ireland to show greater recognition for the team's accomplishments now that a gathering was allowed under COVID-19 rules, Dunlevy and McCrystal won the outstanding female performance award while Smyth took male equivalent.

"It is fantastic to finally get the chance to celebrate and reflect on the amazing achievements of the team, after a five-year cycle," Paralympic Ireland President Eimear Breathnach said.

"The Team Ireland athletes and support staff did the nation proud as they navigated through the challenges presented by the COVID-19 pandemic."

Dunlevy and sighted guide McCrystal, who were also the first Paralympians to win the team honour at the RTE Sports Awards in 2021, received the prize following their gold medals in the time trial B and road race B, and silver medal in the individual pursuit B, at Tokyo 2020.

Smyth achieved his sixth Paralympic gold last year in the T13 100 metres - a fourth straight title in the discipline.

Para cyclist Gary O'Reilly won an outstanding debut prize for his bronze medal in the H5 road time trial

Nicole Turner, a 19-year-old swimmer, was recognised as the best young Paralympian of Tokyo 2020 for her silver medal in the S6 50m butterfly.

Outstanding contribution nods went to Ellen Keane in the athlete category and chief medical officer Dr Martin McConaghy among non-athletes.

Catherine Walsh, who won medals at three Paralympics, was inducted into the Paralympics Ireland Hall of Fame.

The President's Award, chosen by Breathnach, was given to the organisation’s retired chief executive John Treacy.

The Irish Paralympic Order was bestowed to ex-President and four-time Paralympian John Fulham, plus Liam Harbison, a former chief executive of the organisation.

Other awards included Sam Barnes of Sportsfile winning the photography prize and RTÉ being recognised for its media contribution to Tokyo 2020.