Andrew Wilson, left, and Ilya Shymanovich, right, shared the men's 100 metres breaststroke title ©Taipei 2017

Andrew Wilson of the United States and Belarus' Ilya Shymanovich produced a stunning finish that saw them share the men's 100 metres breaststroke title at Taipei 2017.

Racing down the home straight, the duo both touched the wall in 1 min 00.15sec, handing each of them a Universiade gold medal.

The bronze medal was won by Dmitriy Balandin of Kazakhstan in 1:00.17.

Earlier in the day, American Justin Ress was quickest in the men's 100m backstroke final.

Ress' time of 53.29sec saw the American finish just under a second clear in gold medal position.

Japan's Kosuke Hagino took the silver medal in 54.12 and Danas Rapsys of Lithuania claimed bronze in 54.17.

There was a Universiade record in the opening swimming final of the night.

Ukraine's Andrii Govorov set a new best of 22.90 to win the men's 50m butterfly title.

Russia's Andrey Zhilkin took second in 23.40 and Henrique de Souza Martins of Brazil rounded out the podium in 23.54.

Germany took their first gold medal of the Universiade as Aliena Schmidtke touched the wall ahead of her rivals in the women's 50m butterfly in a time of 26.16.

Elena Di Liddo of Italy finished second in 26.50 and Japan's Yukina Hirayama sealed the bronze medal with her time of 26.51.

Aliena Schmidtke won Germany's first gold medal of Taipei 2017 ©Taipei 2017
Aliena Schmidtke won Germany's first gold medal of Taipei 2017 ©Taipei 2017

Victory for Australia's Sian Whittaker in the women's 200m backstroke in 2:09.50 brought swimming action to a close for the evening.

Canadian Alexia Zevnik finished in second in 2:09.92, finishing in front of Bridgette Alexander of the US, who claimed the bronze medal in 2:10.30.

In diving competition today, Kim Kuk Hyang and Kim Un Hyang of North Korea won the women's 10m synchronised platform gold.

The duo finished on a score of 303.54 points to finish well clear of their nearest rivals.

Brittany O'Brien and Emily Meaney of Australia took the silver medal on 297.84 points and bronze went to Yulia Tikhomirova and Iuliia Timoshinina of Russia on 263.07.

South Korea's Kim Yeongnam then won the men's 1m springboard gold medal.

A final jump of 72.00 saw him finish on a total of 453.00 points.

Briadam Herrera of the US won silver on 449.25 points and completing the podium was Russia's Evgenii Kuznetsov on 434.20.