By Emily Goddard

The Bahamas has been named as the host of the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup ©CONCACAFThe Bahamas has been named as host of the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup, making it the first nation in the Caribbean region to stage a senior FIFA tournament.

The island country was selected to host the 16-team event by the FIFA Executive Committee at its meeting in Moroccan city Marrakech.

Jeffrey Webb, the President of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), said it is "an honour and privilege" to welcome the Beach Soccer World Cup to the region.

"Congratulations to the Bahamas Football Association (BFA) for their timely efforts in securing the bid to host the next FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup," he added.

"We wish them all the best in the ongoing preparations for this historic event and look forward to extending the Caribbean's warmth and hospitality to all qualified teams in 2017."

The Bahamas has hosted several sporting events in recent history, including the 2014 International Association of Athletics Federations World Relays, last year's CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship and the 59th FIFA Congress in 2009.

"This is fantastic and welcomed news, not only for the football family of the BFA, but the Bahamas in general," said BFA President Anton Sealey.

"It is unquestionably a tremendous honour and privilege to be chosen to host a FIFA competition and the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in particular.

"On behalf of a grateful Government and people of The Bahamas, I wish to thank CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb and the FIFA Executive Committee for the confidence reposed in The Bahamas to host this prestigious event, which undoubtedly will accrue tremendous economic benefit to the country."

The 2017 Beach Soccer World Cup will be the first time the Caribbean region has hosted a senior FIFA tournament ©Getty ImagesThe 2017 Beach Soccer World Cup will be the first time the Caribbean region has hosted a senior FIFA tournament ©Getty Images

The tournament has taken place every year since its establishment in 1995, when it was originally supervised by Beach Soccer World Wide and was called the Beach Soccer World Championship.

Due to the sport's rapid growth, FIFA took over the organisation of the competition in 2005 and rebranded it as an official FIFA tournament.

As of 2009, the tournament takes place every two years.

It was last held in 2013 in Tahiti when Russia won their second consecutive World Cup.

The next edition of the competition is due to take place in Portuguese city Espinho next year.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
March 2014: FIFA opens bidding process for eight tournaments
March 2013: Bahamas set to host 2013 CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship