By Gary Anderson

March 27 - Australia has named its provisional squad for the 2014 Wheelchair Basketball World Championships ©Getty Images Defending champions Australia have named a provisional 21-man squad who will be in contention to represent the side at this year's men's Wheelchair Basketball World Championships in Incheon.

The squad is a mixture of youth and experience and includes a number of players who were part of the side that won World Championship gold in Birmingham four years ago when they overcame France 79-69.

The two-time Paralympic champions followed that up with a silver medal at London 2012, losing out to Canada in the final.

Eight of that squad make the provisional cut, including Brad Ness, Mike Hartnett, Justin Eveson, Shaun Norris, Tristan Knowles, Bill Latham, Jannik Blair and Nick Taylor.

They will be joined by the likes of Tom O'Neill-Thorne, Luke Pople, Michael Auprince and Jordan Bartley who were part of the Australian Spinners side who secured bronze at the men's Under-23 Wheelchair Basketball World Championships in Adana last year.

Rollers head coach Ben Ettridge claimed the strength in depth of the squad is testament to the quality of wheelchair basketball in Australia and it will be a tough task to whittle it down to the final 12.

"The depth of this extended squad is truly a testament to the talent that currently lies in the Rollers programme," he said.

"These players provide great leadership and really set the standards for the group, giving the younger players a clear expectation of what is required to be part of the Rollers programme.

"The goal of the Rollers programme is always to have pressure from beneath.

"No one owns their spot in the team and must earn it."

The experienced Brad Ness will be hoping to lead the Australian defence of their World Championship title in Incheon ©Getty Images The experienced Brad Ness will be hoping to lead the Australian defence of their World Championship title in Incheon ©Getty Images

The full 21-man squad is Joshua Allison, Michael Auprince, Jordan Bartley, Jannik Blair, Marcus Chiavelli, Michael D'Amelio, Adam Deans, Justin Eveson, Michael Hartnett, Tristan Knowles, Bill Latham, Andrew Liddawi, Brad Ness, Shaun Norris, Tom O'Neill-Thorne, Luke Pople, Nick Radovich, Kim Robins, Shawn Russell, Nick Taylor and Sam White.

The World Championships are due to take place in Incheon from July 3 to 15.

Australia have been drawn in Group D and will face Germany, Sweden and Italy.

Six-time world champions the United States take on Algeria, Colombia and Turkey in Group C while Group B consists of Japan, Iran, Spain and the Netherlands.

Hosts South Korea will take on inaugural World Championship winners Great Britain in Group A along with Argentina and Mexico.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
September 2012: 
Canada beat Australia for London 2012 wheelchair basketball title
July 2010: 
Australia and US claim victory at World Wheelchair Basketball Championships
July 2010: Australia to take on France in World Wheelchair Basketball Championships final