By Tom Degun

Tim ReddishFebruary 27 - Tim Reddish has today been re-elected as British Paralympic Association (BPA) chairman for a second four-year term.

The 55-year-old from Nottingham, who lost his sight in 1988 due to the hereditary degenerative condition retinitis pigmentosa, was confirmed to continue as BPA chair for the next four years having stood un-opposed for the position.

A former elite disability swimmer, Reddish competed at three consecutive Paralympic Games in Barcelona 1992, Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000, where he amassed three silver and two bronze medals.

Reddish was first elected BPA chairman in 2008, taking over from Mike Brace, and said he was honoured to be serving a second four-year term.

"I am delighted to be reappointed as chair of the BPA for a further four-year term," he said.

"The London Games have put Paralympic sport on a new platform and we are all determined to make the most of this to further develop the organisation and the movement in the UK."

The re-election of Reddish today came as a further five Board members were elected for four-year terms at the BPA, three of whom were re-elected to their positions.

British Volleyball Federation President Richard Callicott, Disability Snowsport UK treasurer Paul Masters and British Rowing chair Annamarie Phelps were all re-elected, while the two new Board members elected were GB Boccia chairman David Hadfield and Tennis Foundation executive director Geoff Newton.

Richard Calicott 2British Volleyball Federation President Richard Callicott has been re-elected to the BPA Board

The outgoing BPA Board members are Anne Cutcliffe, Jon Morgan, Sue Wolstenholme and Jon Amos.

The Board composition was changed following a review of the BPA Governance, which was conducted by Deloitte in 2010, and it will now comprise six elected members, including the chair, and up to four non-executive directors.

The non-executive directors will be appointed later this year, following a review of the skill set of the newly elected Board.

The BPA Board previously consisted of eight elected members, including the chair, with no non-executive directors.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
May 2008: Reddish elected new chairman of the BPA