By Tom Degun

WSB_action_May_2011July 31 - The World Series of Boxing (WSB) will have a new look format for season two of the competition as there will now be two groups rather than the system of having three regional conferences that featured in season one.

The WSB is owned by the International Boxing Association (AIBA) and is the only professional boxing competition that allows amateur boxers to retain their Olympic eligibility even though it features no head guards or vests and a professional-style scoring with three judges.

The 12 teams were officially drawn into the two groups today at a ceremony in Astana in Kazakhstan with the groups divided to ensure that there is a fair regional representation in each group.

Group A features Pohang Poseidons, Dynamo Moscow, Mumbai (the new franchise from India), Dolce & Gabbana Milano Thunder, Astana Arlans and Los Angeles Matadors.

Group B features Paris United, Istanbulls, Baku Fires, Beijing Dragons, Germany and Miami Gallos.

Within each group, the teams will meet each other once at home and once away, giving a total of ten matches for each team.

The top four teams in each group will go through to the play-offs, with the top team in one group facing the fourth place team in the other group and the second place team in one group taking on the third place team in the other group.

The WSB 2011-2012 season will start on November 11, 2011.

Season one saw three regional conferences - Asia, Europe and North America - in action with Paris United claiming overall victory in May this year to pocket a cheque for $500,000 (£305,000/€347,000) in addition to the WSB Team Championship trophy.

They will be looking to defend their title but the competition is expected to be tougher this year now that rising boxing power India have a franchise in the shape of TransStadia who will operate out of Mumbai.

C_K_Wu_China_May_2011"Having just seen India's junior boxers scoop two medals here at the World Junior Boxing Championships in Astana, I am confident that boxing in India has a great future," said AIBA President Dr CK Wu (pictured).

"The fact that India now has a franchise in the World Series of Boxing will act as a fantastic incentive for these youngsters to hone their skills, in the knowledge that a secure future awaits them in the world of AIBA boxing.

"I would like to thank TransStadia for their commitment to the World Series of Boxing.

"I believe that they have understood that this is a long-term project and I am convinced that their expertise in the sports industry in India will help to make this new venture a success."

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
May 2011: Derevyanchenko and Benchabla add names to WSB roll of honour
May 2011: Abutalipov, Wang and Russo claim first three boxing quota places for London 2012
April 2011: Exclusive - Japanese may enter World Series of Boxing
April 2011: IMG to pull out of World Series of Boxing after only one season
February 2011: World Series of Boxing finals moved to Guiyang to secure greater coverage