Double Paralympic champion Wang Haitao is looking for a third world title ©Getty Images

China's Wang Haitao will look to continue his dominance of wheelchair curling at the 2023 World Championships in Richmond in Canada, which begins tomorrow.

The 33-year-old skip is the back-to-back and reigning Paralympic champion having defended his Pyeongchang 2018 title on home ice at Beijing 2022 last year.

Wang will be defending his world title in Richmond having won it last time in Beijing in 2021, and is aiming to win the crown for a third time in all after also bagging gold in Stirling in 2019.

It will be a new-look team for him in Richmond, however, as only Zhang Mingliang keeps his place in the line-up from Beijing 2022 and the last World Championships.

Chen Jianxin, Yan Zhuo and Sun Yulong all make way with Zhang Shuaiyu, Yang Jingiao and Li Nana all coming in.

Twelve teams are due to take part at the Richmond Curling Centre in British Columbia.

They will all face each other in a round-robin stage, with the top six advancing to the play-off phase.

Teams ranked first and second will automatically go through to the semi-finals, with third playing sixth and fourth squaring off with fifth for the right to join them.

Zhang Mingliang returns for China but their Beijing 2022 team is otherwise completely changed ©Getty Images
Zhang Mingliang returns for China but their Beijing 2022 team is otherwise completely changed ©Getty Images

Canada will play at home after winning Paralympic bronze in Beijing, looking for a first title since 2013.

Paralympic silver medallists Sweden are also in the field but 2020 world champions Russia are absent with the country frozen out of sport due to the invasion of Ukraine.

Czech Republic, Denmark, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Norway, Scotland and the United States complete the line-up.

A mixed doubles event will also be held with Sweden defending the title they won at the inaugural edition last year.

However, they will be represented by Rebecka Carlsson and Tommy Andersson and not the 2022 winners Sabina Johansson and Marcus Holm.

Two round-robin groups have been drawn with China, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Scotland, Slovakia, Switzerland and the US in Group A.

Hosts Canada will play in Group B with Denmark, England, Germany, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia and Sweden.

Both group winners will advance to the semi-finals, with the second and third ranked teams playing-off for a place in the last four.

The Championships will run until March 12.