Olympic champion Carissa Moore of Hawaii won the opening WSL Championship Tour event of the season ©Getty Images

Olympic champion Carissa Moore and Jack Robinson claimed victories at the first World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour event of the season held at Banzai Pipeline on the island of Oahu in Hawaii.

Moore, who won Olympic shortboard gold for the United States and competes for Hawaii on the WSL, edged a low-scoring women's final against Australia's two-time champion Tyler Wright to win the Billabong Pipeline Masters.

She had finished as runner-up in the past two years, but went one better after notching 11.00 from five waves to the 10.00 of Wright.

Moore had beaten compatriot Bettylou Sakura Johnson in the semi-finals, Australia's Molly Picklum in the quarter-finals and the US' Alyssa Spencer in the round of 16.

The men's final between Robinson of Australia and Italy's Leonardo Fioravanti was also low-scoring in blustery conditions.

Fioravanti was competing in his first final on the WSL Championship Tour after victories against Caio Ibelli of Brazil, South Africa's Jordy Smith, Australia's Callum Robson and the US' Griffin Colapinto.

Robinson had seen off Brazilians Joao Chianca, Gabriel Medina and Michael Rodrigues in the knockout stages as well as Hawaii's John John Florence.

He then earned a fourth career title on the WSL Championship Tour by scoring 9.17 in the final to the 7.47 of Fioravanti.

Hawaii is also set to host the next event on the WSL Championship Tour with the Hurley Pro Sunset Beach scheduled from Sunday (February 12) until February 23 at Sunset Beach.