The FINA Water Polo World Cup features a new format for 2023 ©Getty Images

The International Swimming Federation (FINA) has conducted its draw for Division One of the Men's and Women's Water Polo World Cups, with President Husain Al-Musallam claiming the new format means "any team can win".

Under the new format for the 2023 season, the top 12 men's and eight women's teams will compete in Division One, with six advancing to the Super Final.

A further two places in the Super Final are available through Division Two, which is open to any teams from Europe, the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania.

The draw was held in Hungary's capital Budapest, which received praise from Al-Musallam in his remarks.

"I have very beautiful memories from this beautiful city of Budapest," the Kuwaiti official said.

"I am very proud of what this city and Hungary have done for the development of aquatic sport - not only in water polo but in all the aquatic disciplines.

"We were here for the FINA World Championships in 2017 and 2022, and we will be back in 2027.

"What I expect from this new format of the tournament is that any team can win the FINA Water Polo World Cup."

Women's Olympic and world champions and World Cup holders United States have been drawn in Group B alongside Tokyo 2020 silver medallists Spain, Italy and China.

The other group includes Greece, The Netherlands, Olympic bronze medallists Hungary and Australia.

In the Men's World Cup, the Olympic gold medallists Serbia have been drawn in Group B with world champions Spain, alongside Croatia, Georgia, Australia and Montenegro.

World Cup holders Hungary are in Group A with Olympic silver medallists Greece, World Championships silver medallists Italy, Japan, France and the US.

The first women's qualification tournament for the Super Final is set to take place from April 14 to 16 next year, followed by a second from April 28 to 30.

The Men's World Cup qualifiers are scheduled for April 18 to 22 and May 2 to 6.

Super Finals have been scheduled for June 23 to 25 in the Women's World Cup and June 30 to July 2 in the men's.