Salons Hoche is expected to host the Belgium House at Paris 2024 ©Salons Hoche

The Belgium House is set to be based at the Salons Hoche in the French capital for the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics.

News outlet DH reported that the leaders of the Belgian Olympic and Interfederal Committee (COIB) struck an agreement with the Parisian event organiser.

The hospitality venue, which is typically used for business events and celebrations, is close to the Parc Monceau, a public park, and is a 10 minute walk from the Champs Elysées.

The Belgium House is expected to host a variety of events so that local people can experience Belgian culture.

"It is a prestigious place, a mythical place, which can boast of an excellent geographical location which also made it a place highly prized by various National Olympic Committees," Cédric Van Branteghem, the new director of the COIB, said.

"It was therefore important to get there early and we are very happy to have been able to conclude an agreement with the Salons Hoche.

Gymnast Nina Derwael was one Belgium's three gold medallists at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images
Gymnast Nina Derwael was one Belgium's three gold medallists at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

"We will have more than 2000m² at our disposal to welcome all our guests, the VIPs, but also the general public, i.e. 2,800 to 3,000 people, for the duration of the Olympic Games.

"It will really be 'the place to be' for the Belgians in Paris and we will truly be at the heart of the Olympic Games."

He added: "The idea is really to live to the rhythm of the Games from morning to evening and, of course, to celebrate our medallists."

Belgium won seven medals at Tokyo 2020 - the previous edition of the Olympic Games - with three golds, one silver and three bronzes.

Nina Derwael won gold in gymnastics while Nafissatou Thiam secured the heptathlon title and the men's field hockey team succeeded in their quest for the gold medal.

Wout Van Aert achieved silver in cycling and Matthias Casse and Bashir Abdi won respected bronzes in judo and marathon.

Pieter Devos, Jérôme Guery and Grégory Wathelet combined to collectively win a bronze in equestrian.