Ally Carda has joined the USA Softball Board on a three-year basis ©Getty Images

Five Olympians have been added to the USA Softball Board of Directors, including Ally Carda who joins as a representative of the current women's national team.

Carda, who is poised to play for the United States at events including the World Games this year, is joining the Board on a three-year term.

Lovie Jung, Aubree Munro, Janie Reed and Natasha Watley are all joining the Board on a one-year basis.

The appointments mean there are now eight athlete representatives on the 24-member Board, as mandated in the new bylaws USA Softball adopted at its latest Annual Council Meeting.

"I am so excited to begin my term as an elite athlete representative for the USA Softball Board of Directors," said Carda, who helped the US win a silver medal at Tokyo 2020 where women's softball returned to the Olympic Games after a 13-year absence.

"My main goal is to be a positive voice for the current and future athletes in our sport. 

"I believe all of us on this Board will be able to work together to create any necessary changes while building on our established foundation to allow everyone from the youth level to national team level a place to thrive and excel."

Lovie Jung and Natasha Watley helped the US win softball gold at Athens 2004 ©Getty Images
Lovie Jung and Natasha Watley helped the US win softball gold at Athens 2004 ©Getty Images

While the four other new additions are only temporary following the adoption of new bylaws, Carda is taking up a vacated seat on the Board so will complete that term, serving for three years.

Reed - who was previously an athlete representative from 2016 to 2020 - and Munro both played at Tokyo 2020.

Jung and Watley each appeared at two Olympics - Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008.

They won gold medals in 2004 and silvers in 2008.

"I can’t wait to get started and work towards giving young athletes an amazing opportunity to grow on and off the field," Jung added.

Michelle Moultrie, Nick Mullins and Cam Schiller are the other three athlete representatives on the USA Softball Board.