Raymond Blondel, back row, centre, has been elected as President of the European Paralympic Committee, with a new Executive Committee also elected ©Facebook/European Paralympic Committee

Raymond Blondel has been elected President of the European Paralympic Committee (EPC) at the governing body's General Assembly and Conference in Limassol in Cyprus.

Sweden's Asa Llinares Nolin will assist Dutchman Blondel as his vice-president, while Norwegian Terje Jentoft Roel was voted treasurer.

Blondel is replacing Croatia's Ratko Kovačić, who had been President since 2017.

"I am humbled and extremely honoured by the trust and confidence the European members have placed in me," said Blondel.

"Paralympians are an inspiration to many and the Paralympic Movement can contribute immensely to a more inclusive and solidary European society.

"I look forward to strengthening the position of European Paralympic sports in the coming years, organising state of the art Paralympic events and building a strong European Paralympic Committee."

Ireland's Miriam Malone, Hungarian Anita Urr, Lukasz Szeliga of Poland, Geoff Newton of Britain and Lithuania's Mindaugas Bilius were also part of the new EPC Executive Committee elected at the General Assembly.

The EPC also approved a new strategic plan for the future development of the organisation at the meeting.

This shows a strong commitment and clear ambition to build and strengthen Para sport in Europe, its proponents insist.

Delegates also agreed to place a stronger focus on youth games that take place on a regular basis as well to expand the EPC's network within the European Union, the European Olympic Committees and the European non-government organisations.