The FIAS Congress was staged on the eve of the World Sambo Championships in Tashkent ©FIAS

Six new faces have been added to the International Sambo Federation (FIAS) Executive Committee following a vote at the organisation’s Congress today here in Tashkent in Uzbekistan.

Alexander Korsik of Russia, American Mikhail Kozitskiy, Francois Mbassi of Cameroon, Mun Seong-cheon of South Korea, Mariya Oryashkova of Bulgaria and Anna Korchagina of the Czech Republic will take up their new positions on the panal responsible for governing the sport.

Six members of the Executive Committee were also re-elected including secretary general Roberto Ferraris of Italy.

The other successful candidates were Tatjana Trivic of Serbia, Vladimir Yaprintsev of Belarus, Cesar Arteaga of Venezuela, Nobuyuki Asai of Japan and Vadim Rogach of Ukraine.

All 12 members will serve four-year terms.

Monique Athanase of the Seychelles and Merampi Iliadis of Greece have lost their places on the Executive Committee after failing to secure enough votes from the 79 participating National Federations.

There were also unsuccessful challenges from Kazakh duo Zhandos Kemelbayev and Amantai Asamidanov, Djekhun Mammedov of Azerbaijan, Avtandil Tsintsadze of Georgia, Orsolya Papp-Marta of Hungary, Shay Gaizinger of Israel and Angel Luis Gimenez Bravo of Spain.

FIAS President Vasily Shestakov leads an18-person Executive Committee that also features vice-presidents Sergey Eliseev of Russia, Alamjon Mulleav of Uzbekistan, Omar Lopera of Colombia and Dalil Skalli of Morocco as well as France’s Laure Fournier, head of the organisation’s Athletes’ Commission.

FIAS secretary general Roberto Ferraris was among the Executive Committee members to be re-elected ©FIAS
FIAS secretary general Roberto Ferraris was among the Executive Committee members to be re-elected ©FIAS

This year’s Congress was held on the eve of the World Championships, scheduled to run from tomorrow until Sunday (November 14) in Tashkent.

Journalists were not allowed to enter the Congress, which was staged at the Courtyard by Marriott in Tashkent.

Shestakov is set to stage a press conference tomorrow morning where he will discuss the contents of the meeting.

The FIAS gained full recognition at the International Olympic Committee Session prior to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics in July.

The make-up of the FIAS Athletes’ Commission has yet to be confirmed with three of the seven places up for grabs.

Athletes competing in Tashkent will have the chance to vote for three representatives from eligible candidates.

Svetlana Timoshenko of Belarus, Bulgarian Oryashkova, Paule Sitcheping of Cameroon, Jule-Marie Horn of Germany, Shin Jae-yong of South Korea, Karina Stefanovic of Lithuania, Angel Delgado of Mexico, Artem Osipenko of Russia, Uzbekistan's Sarbon Ernazarov and Maria Guedez of Venezuela are all standing.

Those successful will serve four-year terms.