Elana Meyers Taylor won a silver medal at both the 2014 and 2018 Olympics as well as bronze at Vancouver 2010 ©Getty Images

The 2021 United States of America (USA) Bobsled Push Championships concluded on July 31 with Sylvia Hoffman, Frank Del Duca, Charlie Volker and Elana Meyers Taylor ending victorious in Lake Placid.

Beginning on July 30, the women's push and men's drivers events were contested at the state-of-the-art Ice House facility in New York.

Athletes competed in two heats with an optional third heat, with the best two times were combined to determine the winner.

Hoffman was crowned the 2021 USA women's bobsled push champion with a two-run combined time of 11.21sec after clocking starts of 5.60 and 5.61.

She narrowly beat Olympic bronze medallist Aja Evans by two milliseconds and her first run time set an Ice House record.

The Texan, who is making a bid for her first Team USA call-up, was recruited after impressing in the television show, The Next Olympic Hopeful.

"I feel really good and this feels amazing," Hoffman said.

"I wanted to come out and lay down the times that I did and I was so happy to set the track record."

Sylvia Hoffman was crowned the 2021 USA Women’s Bobsled Push Champion ©Getty Images
Sylvia Hoffman was crowned the 2021 USA Women’s Bobsled Push Champion ©Getty Images

Meanwhile, Frank Del Duca took the title in the men's drivers with a combined time of 10.79 after recording 5.32 and 5.34.

Del Duca is also a member of the army’s World Class Athlete Program.

"It’s hard to put into words how much what we do means to me," Del Duca said.

"I love this team and this sport.

"I put my heart and soul into this and am excited about the season."

The second day of competition saw second-year competitor Volker earn the USA Men's Bobsled Push Championship title, while three-time Olympic medallist Meyers Taylor won the women's drivers event.

Volker clocked a two-run total of 10.14 to win.

He posted the fastest time of 5.07 from the brakes and an equally fast time of 5.07 seconds from the left side.

In the women’s drivers competition, Meyers Taylor was dominant.

The three-times Olympic medallist recorded the fastest times in all four heats.

Her best time of 5.64 from the driver’s bar and 5.83 from the monobob position were combined for 11.47 seconds to give her a substantial lead of 0.35 seconds over the chasing pack.

"It’s so great to have the ice house and it’s going to be a game changer for us as a team," Meyers Taylor said.

"Personally, it was good to see where I am.

"I wanted to push faster but I have to remember the goal is to be ready in February."

The athletes will return to the Ice House for the combination of push testing and competition from September 4 to 5.