Alessandro Hämmerle, Julia Dujmovits, Anna Gasser, Andreas Prommegger and Benjamin Karl, from left, with OSV sports director Christian Galler and OSV President Peter Schröcksnadel ©OSV

The Austrian Ski Federation (ÖSV) has honoured 27 winter sport athletes following the 2020-2021 season, with some of them including snowboard stars Alessandro Hämmerle, Anna Gasser and Benjamin Karl.

Between them, the athletes won 22 World Cup medals, including 11 golds.

There were 10 Crystal Globe titles won between them too, including two going to Gasser in the women's freestyle overall and slopestyle Snowboard World Cup, while Hämmerle won the snowboard cross title.

Vincent Kriechmayr and Marco Schwarz claimed the Alpine Ski World Cup Crystal Globes in the men's super-G and slalom, while Katharina Liensberger won the women's slalom title.

The ceremony for honouring the athletes was held at the M32 restaurant at Mönchsberg and was broadcast on Österreichischer Rundfunk (ORF) on April 11 as part of its Sport am Sonntag Spezial, overlooking the old town of Salzburg.

Stefan Kraft was one of many ski jumpers honoured at the event ©Getty Images
Stefan Kraft was one of many ski jumpers honoured at the event ©Getty Images

Athletes answered questions from ORF presenters Karoline Rath-Zobernig and Oliver Polzer and ÖSV President Peter Schröcksnadel presented gold coins to them, noting their achievements.

The Austrian world team silver medallists from the 2021 Nordic World Ski Championships - Philipp Aschenwald, Jan Hörl, Daniel Huber and Stefan Kraft - were all recognised.

Parallel giant slalom snowboard world bronze medallist Julia Dujmovits and parallel slalom world silver medallist Andreas Prommegger were honoured too. 

Biathletes Lisa Hauser, Simon Eder, David Komatz and Dunja Zdouc were all recognised, as was Para-cross-country skier Cara Edlinger.

Lukas Greiderer, Lukas Klapfer, Johannes Lamparter and Mario Seidl were all recognised in Nordic combined, while Michael Hayböck, Chiara Hölzl, Daniela Irashko-Stolz, Marita Kramer and Sophie Sorschag were recognised for ski jumping.

Adrian Pertl was also awarded for his work in Alpine skiing.