BPC chairwoman Anne d'Ieteren was awarded a BOIC Order of Merit ©BPC

Belgian Paralympic Committee (BPC) President Anne d'Ieteren was awarded an Order of Merit by the Belgian Olympic and Interfederal Committee (BOIC).

D'Ieteren has worked for both the BPC and BOIC during her career. 

She had been a successful international dressage rider and was selected for the Moscow 1980 Olympics, although she was not able to compete after the Belgian Equestrian Federation joined the boycott of the Games initiated by the United States. 

D'Ieteren did not get the chance to compete at another Olympic Games, although she was shortlisted for Los Angeles 1984. 

As a coach and trainer, d'Ieteren played a crucial role in the development of Para-dressage in Belgium.

A national coach from 1997 to 2015, she led the team to six Paralympic gold medals and a fifth place for Belgium at London 2012 and Rio 2016. 

D'Ieteren has been chairman of both the BPC and the Ligue Handisport Francophone since 2009. 

Anne d'Ieteren has promoted Para-dressage in Belgium during her career ©Eurodressage
Anne d'Ieteren has promoted Para-dressage in Belgium during her career ©Eurodressage

She has also spent a large part of her career at the BOIC. 

From 1985 to 2017, d'Ieteren was a member of the BOIC Board of Directors and chair of the Selection Committee from 2005 to 2009. 

From 1980 to 1984, she had been vice-chairman of the BOIC's Athletes Committee.

The BOIC award aimed to recognise her service to sport on various levels. 

The BOIC Order of Merit is given out each year, with former middle distance runner Roger Moens earning the accolade in 2019.