The Yanqing National Sliding Center is set for its pre-homologation event on Tuesday ©IBSF

The pre-homologation of the Yanqing National Sliding Centre, the bobsleigh, skeleton and luge venue for the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympic Games, is set to start next week.

The International Bobsleigh and Skeleton Federation (IBSF) has agreed with organisers to conduct the pre-homologation runs, due to begin on Monday (October 26), with only Chinese bobsleigh and skeleton athletes due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Although luge will also be held at the venue, the pre-homologation is just for bobsleigh and skeleton.

The IBSF will participate with bobsleigh delegate Jos Mattli and skeleton delegate Michael Grünberger, who are set to be accompanied by two-time Latvian bobsleigh Olympian Gatis Gūts and Medical Committee chairman Christian Schneider.

Members of the IBSF Track Committee will also observe technical aspects.

IBSF President Ivo Ferriani will be in attendance for the event ©Getty Images
IBSF President Ivo Ferriani will be in attendance for the event ©Getty Images

IBSF President Ivo Ferriani is scheduled to attend the event, while IBSF television coordinator Maarten Verstraete will be tasked with preparing a video of the runs which will then be shared to all member federations afterwards.

All of those involved in person will have to follow the rules of quarantine and hygiene, and protection against infection as outlined by the Beijing 2022 Organising Committee.

Test runs are set to continue until November 1, with the pre-homologation process being undertaken to validate the safety and drivability of the track.

It will also serve as a check on the infrastructure, logistics aspects and work flow prior to the Games.

The venue was recently completed and two weeks ago it was reported Chinese athletes would start training on the track.

Beijing 2022 is due to begin on February 4 in 2022, less than sixth months after the Tokyo 2020 Closing Ceremony.

Events at the 2022 Winter Olympics are Paralympics are due to be staged in three main clusters - Beijing itself, Yanqing and Zhangjiakou.