Canada's most successful luge Olympian Alex Gough has been re-elected to the Luge Canada Board ©Getty Images

Olympic luge athlete Alex Gough has been re-elected for a second term on the Board of Directors for Luge Canada and will serve another two-year term in the position.

As Canada's most accomplished Olympic luge athlete, who won a silver and a bronze medal at the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Games, she will play a part in development and preparations ahead of Beijing 2022.

Sam Edney will continue to lead the day-to-day high-performance programme with Gough's voice being part of the Board of Directors.

Speaking of her re-election, Gough said: "It is a tremendous honour to have the opportunity to bring the athlete voice to the Board of Directors for another term to ensure the leadership of Luge Canada is informed and educated on issues that are important to elite athletes in Canada.

Seven of the 11 members of the new Luge Canada Board of Directors, including Steve Harris, top ©Luge Canada
Seven of the 11 members of the new Luge Canada Board of Directors, including Steve Harris, top ©Luge Canada

"I committed nearly two decades of my life to chasing my dreams of standing on the Olympic podium in luge.

"It is a privilege now to be able to give back to a sport that has given me so much, by helping this new generation of athletes achieve their own sporting goals."

Gough was a four-time Olympian and holds 27 individual and 16 team relay World Cup medals, as well as two individual and four team relay World Championship medals.

New faces will also be on the Board with Gough including Calgary-based lawyer, Peter Major, as well as former Canadian luge athlete and business leader Brian Onushko, with both sitting on the Board for two years.

Sally Bennett, sport manager at the Whistler Sliding Centre, will serve a one-year term replacing Lucinda Jagger who stepped down for personal reasons, while Daniela Bruch was appointed on the same term.

Calgary-based police officer Steve Harris was also re-elected on a two-year deal and will be joined by other Board members Chris Wightman, Tyler Seitz, Ron Stitt and Jim Hemlin who have been given the same term length.