Ecuador stunned Japan in their Davis Cup qualifying tie ©Getty Images

Ecuador stunned Japan in their Davis Cup qualifying tie, with the 18-nation line up for the Final now confirmed. 

The two sides met at Bourbon Beans Dome in the Japanese city of Miki, playing in front of no spectators due to efforts to contain the coronavirus outbreak.

Emilio Gomez put the visitors in front with a 7-5, 7-6 result against Go Soeda. 

Roberto Quiroz then won his rubber against Yasutaka Uchiyama 7-6, 2-6, 7-6, before Gonzalo Escobar and Diego Hildago confirmed the victory by triumphing 7-6, 6-3 against Ben McLachlan and Uchiyama. 

It will be the first time Ecuador compete at the Davis Cup Finals, scheduled to take place in Madrid in Spain from November 23 to 29. 

Austria, Czech Republic, Hungary and Sweden are also set to be making debut appearances. 

Hungary's tie against Belgium was the only qualifier to go to a deciding rubber, with Marton Fucsovics coming back from one set down to overcome Ruben Bemelmans 6-7 6-4 6-2, while Sweden secured a 3-1 victory over Chile.

Dominic Thiem was absent from the Austrian team, but Dennis Novak beat Pablo Cuevas of Uruguay 2-6 6-3 6-4 to record a 3-1 win.

Germany saw off Belarus 4-1, while Kazakhstan managed a 3-1 victory over The Netherlands.

The 2018 champions Croatia triumphed 3-1 over India, with Australia getting the same result against Brazil. 

Italy also played behind closed doors, seeing off South Korea 4-0. 

Defending champions Spain, runners-up Canada, semi-finalists Russia and Britain and wild cards Serbia and France had already automatically qualified.