Olympic bronze medallist Mia Kilburg-Manganello is among those listed to compete in Milwaukee ©Getty Images

The inaugural edition of the International Skating Union Four Continents Speed Skating Championships will begin in Milwaukee in the United States tomorrow.

Only athletes from outside of Europe are eligible to compete during the three days of competition at Pettit National Ice Center.

A Four Continents event in figure skating has been held since 1999 but the concept has been expanded into both short track and speed skating for 2019-2020.

Hosts United States will be joined in Milwaukee by teams from Canada, China, Japan, Kazakhstan and South Korea.

Argentina, Australia and Chinese Taipei will also be represented with one athlete each.

The event has a youthful feel with major stars absent from the start list.

South Korea have picked overall junior world champion Chung Jae-won ©Getty Images
South Korea have picked overall junior world champion Chung Jae-won ©Getty Images

This includes Japan's Olympic 500 metres champion Nao Kodaira and American 1,000m world champion Brittany Bowe in the women's events.

Joey Mantia, the American who has won back-to-back world men's mass start titles, is also not due to compete.

The US have included Mia Kilburg-Manganello, an Olympic bronze medallist in the team pursuit at Pyeongchang 2018, in their squad.

South Korea's selections include Chung Jae-won, the overall world junior men's champion from last year.

They have also picked Min-Seok Kim, the Olympic bronze medallist over 1,500m.

Competition begins tomorrow with the men's and women's 500m, the women's 3,000m and the men's 5,000m.

Team sprints will also be held.