The first Panam Sports Awards will be held in Fort Lauderdale on Saturday ©Panam Sports

Best male and female athletes are set to be named at the inaugural Panam Sports Awards here tomorrow (December 13).

Nominees for the awards were announced last month by the Panam Sports, seeking to honour athletes for their performances throughout 2019 and, particularly, at the Pan American Games in Lima.

Grenada’s javelin thrower Anderson Peters is among the nominees for the best male athlete prize, after he won gold medals at both the World Championships in Doha and the Lima 2019 Pan American Games.

Brazilian gymnast Francisco Barretto has also been nominated after three gold medals at Lima 2019, along with two-time Pan American Games cycling champion Nicholas Paul of Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuelan fencer Ruben Limardo.

Cuban wrestler Mijain Lopez completed the list of nominees for the men’s prize after winning gold for the fifth consecutive Pan American Games.

American cyclist Chloe Dygert is among the nominees for the women’s prize, after winning gold on the track and road in Lima.

She also triumphed in the women’s time trial event at the Road Cycling World Championships in Britain.

Triple Lima 2019 swimmer champion Delfina Pignatiello of Argentina, Mexican racquetball champion Paola Longoria and Venezuela’s Pan American Games and world champion triple jumper Yulimar Rojas are also contenders.

Jamaica’s Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is also nominated after double gold at the World Athletics Championships, as well as triumphing in the women’s 200m in Lima.

Both Colombia’s 4x400m relay squad and Puerto Rico’s baseball team are in contention for the best men’s team prize.

Jamaica's Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, left, has been nominated for two prizes in the Panam Sports Awards after winning the 100 and 200m at the World Championships 
 in Doha ©Getty Images
Jamaica's Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, left, has been nominated for two prizes in the Panam Sports Awards after winning the 100 and 200m at the World Championships in Doha ©Getty Images

Argentina’s basketball team and Chile’s beach volleyball duo Marco and Esteban Grimalt complete the contenders following successful years.

The women’s prize will be decided from Canada’s artistic swimming team, Brazil’s handball squad, Argentina’s hockey team and United States’ softball.

Brazil’s Alison dos Santos, United States’ Andrew Abruzzo, Colombia’s Daniel Restrepo, Cuba’s Gabriel Rosillo and Mexico’s Patricio Font are the nominees for the men’s NextGen prize for under-20 athletes.

The women’s award features Puerto Rico’s Adriana Diaz, Peru’s Daniella Rosas, Pignatiello, United States’ Evita Griskenas, Cuba’s Katherin Nuevo and Colombia’s Yenny Sinisterra as contenders.

A changemaker prize will be awarded on the evening with Chile’s Marco Oneto, Colombia’s Mariana Pajon, Argentina’s Jennifer Dahlgren and Fraser-Pryce the nominees.

Brazil’s Claudio Biekarck, Ecuador’s Julio Castillo, Canada’s Krystina Alogbo, Argentina’s Luis Scola and United States’ Nathan Adrian are nominees for the Panam Sports Values award.

The best coach honour will be awarded to either Costa Rica’s Deysiana Mena, Peru’s Gabriel Aramburu, Mexico’s Ivan Bautista, Cuba’s Rolando Acebal or Jamaica’s Stephen Francis.

Panam Sports revealed that  Univisión-TUDN will produce the live show and will prepare an hour-long programme for their free-to-air channel.

ESPN PLAY, Claro Sports, R7 of Brazil and the Panam Sports Channel will also broadcast the ceremony.

Organisers promise that Olympians, world champions and historical sporting icons will be present.