New FIBA President, Hamane Niang ©FIBA

Hamane Niang has promised to "fully dedicate" himself to the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) following his election as President of the worldwide governing body at its Congress in Beijing.

Niang, a former Mali Sports Minister who served as a FIBA vice-president, was elected unopposed during the meeting at the Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel.

The former FIBA Africa head succeeds Argentina's Horacio Muratore and will serve a single four-year term through to 2023.

"I sincerely thank all the National Federations for the trust they have placed in me today," said Niang. 

"It is with humility that I accept this responsibility placed upon me. 

"I promise to dedicate myself fully to FIBA during my tenure and to serve the interests of our beloved sport across all corners of the world. 

"We are the governing body of basketball and we must continue to play the leading role in developing our sport. 

"Together, we can become the most popular sports community in the world."

Hamane Niang was the only candidate for FIBA President and replaces Horacio Muratore ©FIBA
Hamane Niang was the only candidate for FIBA President and replaces Horacio Muratore ©FIBA

Niang will be tasked with building on the work done by Muratore, whose five-year stint at the helm concluded at the Congress, although the Presidential role at FIBA does not have the same significance as other global sports organisations.

Muratore oversaw FIBA during a challenging period, which included the sudden death of secretary general and International Olympic Committee member Patrick Baumann in October.

He was also at the helm during FIBA's protracted row with EuroLeague, but has helped install widespread governance reforms to bring the organisation in line with modern standards.

Germany's Ingo Weiss was re-elected to serve a second four-year term as FIBA treasurer.

A total of 13 officials were elected to the FIBA Central Board during the Congress, including Indonesian businessman and International Olympic Committee member Erick Thohir.

Papua New Guinea's Karo Lelai, chairperson of the Association of National Olympic Committees Athletes' Commission, and Japanese Basketball Federation President Yuko Mitsuya were among the others to secure a place on the Central Board.

They are joined by: Australia's David Reid, Celestine Adjanohoun of Benin, Madagascar's Jean-Michel Ramaroson, Canada's Michele O’Keefe, Marcelo Luis Bedoya Murto from Paraguay, Usie Richards of the Virgin Islands, Romania's Carmen Tocala, Jean-Pierre Siutat of France, Antti Zitting of Finland and Greece's Asterios Zois.