Marianne Vos won Trofeo Alfredo Binda for the fourth time in her career ©Twitter/TrofeoBinda

Marianne Vos won the Trofeo Alfredo Binda for the fourth time after winning a sprint finish at the one-day race in Italy.

Vos had missed out on a record-equalling fourth victory at the race last year, when she placed third behind Poland’s Katarzyna Niewiadoma and fellow Dutch rider Chantal Blaak.

But the CCC-Liv rider would not be denied this time round at the 131 kilometre race, which took riders from Gavirate to Cittiglio in the Lombardy region.

The peloton had reined in Demi Vollering in the closing stages after the Dutch rider had launched a solo attack.

She had established an advantage of nearly one minute heading into the final 15 kilometres, but gradually saw her lead reduced.

Vollering was caught prior to the last five kilometres, with a small leading group forming prior to a sprint.

Vos and last year’s champion, Niewiadoma, were among the leading group, alongside Australia’s Amanda Spratt, Denmark’s Cecilie Uttrup and Italy’s Elena Cecchini, who was aiming to deliver a home victory.

The sprint saw Vos come through to triumph in 3hours, 27min and 3sec for her first WorldTour win of the season.

Vos’ success came a decade on from her first win at the race and she draw level with Italy’s Maria Canins on a record four victories, having also triumphed in 2010 and 2012.

Spratt finished second in the same time as the winner, with Uttrup rounding off the top three.

Vos moves up to second in the UCI Women’s WorldTour rankings on 290 points, 10 shy of leader Marta Bastianelli of Italy.

The season will continue with the Three Days of De Panne in Belgium, which takes place on March 28.

The men’s UCI WorldTour is due to continue tomorrow with the Volta a Catalunya stage race.

A strong field is set to contest the 99th edition of the seven-stage race, headed by three-time winner and reigning world champion Alejandro Valverde.

The Spanish rider is seeking to triumph for the third straight year but will expect to face competition from four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome and Adam Yates, both of Britain.

Colombia’s Nairo Quintana and Egan Bernal could also prove a threat.

The race will begin with a 164km stage in Calella.