Utrecht will host the start of the 2020 Vuelta a España ©ASO

Utrecht will become the first city to host all three of cycling's Grand Tours when it stages the start of the 2020 Vuelta a España.

The 75th edition of the Spanish Grand Tour will start with a team time trial in the Dutch city.

The city has previously hosted the start of the Tour de France in 2015 and the finish of a stage of the Giro d'Italia in 2010.

The 23.7 kilometre team time trial will open the three week race and will feature a technical section in the city centre.

Riders will then ride on the oldest cycle path in The Netherlands, before finishing the stage at Jaarbeursplein.

’s-Hertogenbosch will be the start Dutch city for the second stage, with riders set to tackle a 183km route to Utrecht.

The second stage is anticipated to conclude with a sprint finish.

Breda will host the start of the third stage as the race remains in The Netherlands with a relatively flat route taking them through Hoogerheide.

Riders will then return to Breda for another sprint finish.

Organisers state no less than 34 Dutch municipalities will be visited in three days.

Dates have yet to be confirmed for the start of the Grand Tour, which will come after the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

Following the three days in The Netherlands, teams will then transfer to Spain for the remainder of the race.

The remaining stages have yet to be confirmed.

It will be the fourth time in the race's history that the Grand Tour will begin outside Spain.

This year's race will take place from August 24 to September 15.

Britain's Simon Yates emerged as the winner of the 2018 edition, which began in Israel.