Japan celebrate both their men's and women's teams progressing to the gold medal matches ©World Curling/Twitter

The Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in South Korea are heading towards their climax as the teams were decided for the men's and women's gold medal matches, which will both feature Japan.

The hosts had already qualified for the women's final, but their opponents were decided today at the Gangneung Curling Centre.

The Japanese women's team dominated Hong Kong in the second semi-final, 13-3.

They picked up two points in the first end at the Pyeongchang 2018 venue before stealing four in the second to give themselves an early 6-0 lead.

They continued their dominance throughout the match to reach the final and qualify for the 2019 World Women's Curling Championship in Silkeborg, Denmark.

All four gold medal match competitors have qualified for their respective World Championships next year, and the bronze medal competitors will be heading to the inaugural World Qualification Event in Naseby, New Zealand.

In the men's competition, the Japanese team were also victorious as they beat New Zealand 8-3.

Japan took the lead first with a two-score end before adding a single point in the fourth and a two point steal in the fifth.

In the seventh end, New Zealand skip Scott Becker could not nudge the Japanese stone out of the house and conceded another point to leave the score 7-2.

In the other semi-final, China prevented the hosts from qualifying their men's team for the final as they won 9-6 over South Korea.

China opened the scoring with three points, only for South Korea to respond with two points of their own in the second end.

In the third end, China extended their lead to 4-2 with a one point score.

The turning point of the match happened in the fourth end as South Korea's skip SooHyuk Kim made a mistake to give China a two point steal.

With a 6-2 advantage, China did not let up and qualified for the finals.

The women's bronze medal will be contested by China and Hong Kong, while South Korea and New Zealand will battle it out for the men's bronze.