The annual Fiji Sports Awards have taken place ©FASANOC

Eileen Cikamatana and Leone Nakarawa were named Athletes of the Year at the annual Fiji Sports Awards.

Weightlifter Cikamatana received the women's award, following her performances at the Pacific Mini Games in Vanuatu.

She secured gold in the women's 90 kilograms division where she also set new Commonwealth and Oceania records.

Cikamatana had previously set the records at the Commonwealth Weightlifting Championships in Australia, where she also came away with a gold medal.

She is now set to lead the Fijian weightlifting team at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games next month.

Nakarawa claimed the men's award, with the rugby lock impressing throughout the duration of 2017.

He was not the only rugby award winner of the night, with the men's national team and coach John McKee also earning prizes.

Fiji Rugby Union was also recognised as the sports organisation of the year.

Leone Nakarawa earned the men's athlete of the year prize ©Getty Images
Leone Nakarawa earned the men's athlete of the year prize ©Getty Images

Table tennis players Grace Yee and Vicky Wu earned the young female and male athlete of the year awards respectively.

The technical official of the year was won by Earnest Movick of Fiji Hockey, while the volunteer prize was claimed by Kinisimere Ravai of Fiji Football.

Special Olympics' Robin Dayal was awarded administrator of the year, while Jonacani Lalakobau of the Fiji Times was awarded the photograph of the 2017.