Norway's Håvard Holmefjord Lorentzen topped the men's World Cup standings ©Getty Images

Norway’s Håvard Holmefjord Lorentzen was crowned the overall men’s International Skating Union (ISU) Speed Skating World Cup champion after the final event of the season in Minsk.

The Pyeongchang 2018 men’s 500 metres gold medallist rounded off his season by competing over the sprint distance today at the Minsk Arena.

He finished outside the podium places, with Jan Smeekens leading a Dutch clean swept by clocking 34.83sec.

Smeekens was followed by Dai Dai Ntab and Hein Otterspeer, who clocked 34.94 and 35.97 respectively.

A fourth place finished in a time of 35.01 was enough for Lorentzen to seal the World Cup title for the discipline having moved onto 716 points.

Otterspeer ended second on 568.

Lorentzen also earned enough points to be crowned the overall World Cup winner with a total of 734.

He was followed by Russia’s Denis Yuskov and fellow Norwegian Sverre Lunde Pedersen, who managed 715 and 700 points respectively.

Pedersen won final 1,500m race of the season in a time of 1min 45.47sec.

Yuskov ended as the runner-up 0.17 seconds down.

Newly crowned junior world champion Allan Dahl Johansson of Norway took the bronze medal in 1:45.99.

Yuskov won the World Cup title, despite his second place, ending on 520 points to Pedersen’s 385.

Japan's Miho Takagi won the overall women's title ©Getty Images
Japan's Miho Takagi won the overall women's title ©Getty Images

Simon Schouten claimed his first career World Cup win in the mass start event, the Dutch skater pulling clear of Japan’s Shota Nakamura in the closing stages to cross the line first.

Russia’s Danila Semerikov rounded off the top three, with Olympic silver medallist Bart Swings of Belgium fourth at the finish.

Swings celebrated topping the mass start classification for the season on 234 points after leapfrogging the absent Seung-Hoon Lee of South Korea, the Olympic champion.

Bjørn Magnussen, Henrik Rukke and Lorentzen combine to good effect to win the men’s team sprint 1:20.89 and followed by Poland and Russia in times of 1:22.11 and 1:22.54 respectively.

Norway secured the World Cup title with 370 points, Russia trailing on 314.

Japan’s Miho Takagi was crowned overall women’s World Cup winner after finishing nearly 300 points clear of her nearest challenger, Dutch skater Marrit Leenstra, on 1,040 points.

Takagi’s domination was highlighted in the 1,500m events, winning all races she contested in the discipline throughout the season.

She won the final race in the discipline in a time of 1:56.36, with Leenstra and another Dutchwoman, Lotte van Beek, trailing by 0.87 and 1.62 seconds respectively.

Russia’s Angelina Golikova won the women’s 500m race in 38.08, followed by Austria's Vanessa Herzog in 38.11 and securing the World Cup title.

Olga Fatkulina of Russia completed the top three in 38.20.

The mass start event was won by Japan’s Ayano Sato, holding off the challenge of Canada’s Ivanie Blondin and Italy’s Francesca Lollobrigida.

Lollobrigida secured the World Cup crown for the event.

Russia won the team sprint event, with The Netherlands and Norway completing the top three.

The World Cup podium featured the same three teams but with Norway ending the season above their Dutch rivals.