Lassana Palenfo has been re-elected ANOCA President ©ANOCA

Lassana Palenfo has been re-elected President of the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA) by acclamation today in Djibouti.

The Ivorian was the only candidate permitted to stand following the disqualification of Cameroonian opponent Hamad Kolkaba Malboum.

Malboum's accreditation for the event was revoked by the ANOCA Executive Committee after he was accused of illegally using the Government in Cameroon to campaign on his behalf. 

This has not, however, been officially announced by the continental organisation's ruling body, who have given no reason for their decision.

Malboum denies any wrongdoing and is considering appealing to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Palenfo, 76, will now serve a fourth four-year term in office after first assuming the post in 2005.

The election was held by acclamation ostensibly because there was only one candidate, but it appears also a strategy to sideline possible opposition.

"Olympic Africa must take its place, its true place," said Palenfo. 

"Our continent is a wonderful talent pool of budding champions. 

Hamad Kolkaba Malboum was barred from standing in the elections in Djibouti ©ANOCA
Hamad Kolkaba Malboum was barred from standing in the elections in Djibouti ©ANOCA

"We should all help these young people to bloom, the boys and girls who will fly our continent's colours. 

"This quadrennial comes with a lot of challenges. 

"Together, we shall rise to them as we are fully committed to the service of African youths and the Olympic Movement."

Despite the controversy, ANOCA said that "free and fair" elections had been held in a story on their website.

Zimbabwean incumbent Tommy Sithole was unseated as secretary general by Sudan's Ahmed Abou Elgasim Hashim.

The Sudanese won the vote 38-16 in the only change to the major positions.

Nigeria's Habu Ahmed Gumel was returned unopposed as treasurer, with Mustapha Berraf of Algeria beating Gideon Sam of South Africa to the role of first vice president.

Joao Afonso Da Costa Alegre Manuel of Sao Tome and Principe was elected as second vice president with Ha Shun Hao Thyn Voon Philippe of Mauritius named as third vice president.

The fourth vice president is Ramoqopo Matlohang of Lesotho.