Canada have won their first World Women’s Curling Championship title since 2008 ©WCF

Canada won their first World Women's Curling Championship title since 2008 and became the first team in the tournament's history to remain unbeaten at the Capital Gymnasium in Beijing.

The Canadians beat Russia 8-3 in today's final to lift the tournament's new trophy, designed and created by Thomas Lyte of England to mark the World Curling Federation's 50th anniversary.

The Sochi 2014 Olympic gold medallists managed to reach the tournament's showpiece match without losing a game after they also overcame the Russians 7-3 in the semi-final.

Skipped by Rachel Homan, the Canadian team of Emma Miskew, Joanne Courtney, Lisa Weagle and Cheryl Kreviazuk opened the scoring in the second end of the final with a draw by Homan for two points.

They then built on that with a single-point steal in the third end.

After blanking the fourth end, Russia finally made it onto the board with a single point in the fifth.

In the sixth end, Canada scored another three points to take a 6-1 lead when Homan knocked out a Russian stone.

The Russians responded in the seventh end when their skip Anna Sidorova tapped back a Canadian stone to score two points and reduce Canada's lead to 6-3.

A final draw by Homan in the eighth end gave Canada another two points for 8-3, at which point Russia, who were in their first-ever World Championship final, conceded.

Canada beat Russia 8-3 in today's final to maintain their 100 per cent record ©WCF
Canada beat Russia 8-3 in today's final to maintain their 100 per cent record ©WCF

"It’s pretty amazing [to be world champion]," said Homan after the win in China's capital, the host city of the 2022 Winter Olympics.

"We worked so hard for this.

"We’ve been in World Championships four times so it’s finally exciting to be able to bring the gold back for Canada.

"To us, we just wanted to bring back the gold for Canada no matter how we do it.

"That’s what’s most important right now, so we’re going to go out and celebrate."

The Russian squad of Sidorova, Margarita Fomina, Alexandra Raeva, Alina Kovaleva and Nkeiruka Ezekh also made history by being the first team from their nation to collect silver medals in this event's history.

The Scotland team led by skip Eve Muirhead and including Anna Sloan, Vicki Adams, Lauren Gray and Kelly Schafer claimed the bronze medals following their 6-4 win over Sweden.

During the Closing Ceremony, it was announced that China's Bingyu Wang was the winner of the Frances Brodie Award.

The prize is voted for by all the players, to recognise the curler they think best exemplified the sport's values and sportsmanship throughout the event.