England will aim to defend their Women's World Team Squash Championship title in Paris ©Getty Images

Nineteen teams will contest the 2016 World Squash Federation (WSF) Women's World Team Squash Championship, it has been announced after entries closed for the biennial event.

England will begin as the defending champions, having beaten Malaysia 2-1 in the 2014 final at Niagara-on-the-Lake in Canada.

They will head to Paris, where the tournament is being held in the suburb of Issy-les-Moulineaux, looking to secure their eighth team title and move one away from record winners Australia.

The host nation have yet to win a medal in the event’s 37-year history, but will look to impress in front of their home crowd at the historic Jeu De Paume and St Cloud squash clubs.

Both clubs will stage matches throughout the tournament, which is being hosted by the French Squash Federation, with the final then set to be held on an all-glass court at the Palais Des Sports Robert Charpentier.

Having relinquished the title they earned in 2012, Egypt will be expected to be among the strong favourites in Paris.

They currently boast four of the top 10 players in the latest world rankings, which were released earlier this month.

World number one Nour El Sherbini will be expected to be a key player in the Egyptian team
World number one Nour El Sherbini will be expected to be a key player in the Egyptian team ©Getty Images

Nour El Sherbini heads those rankings, having triumphed at the Professional Squash Association Women's World Championship in Malaysia last month.

She will be expected to form a key part of the Egyptian team, who will look to win the event for the third time after success in 2008 and 2012.

Hong Kong, India, Japan and Malaysia will lead the Asian challenge, with teams from Australia, Austria, Canada and Germany among those also due to compete.

The list of participants is completed by Mexico, The Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Wales and the United States.