Brittany Bowe claiming 500m victory at the World Cup Final ©Getty Images

United States' Brittany Bowe continued her superb form to break the 38 seconds barrier and win the 500 metres race at the International Speed Skating (ISU) World Cup Final in Heerenveen

The world sprint champion stopped the clock in 37.84sec to finish comfortably clear of team-mate Heather Richardson-Bergsma, who finished second in 38.02.

Jorien ter Mors of The Netherlands finished third with 38.20 two places clear of overall 500m World Cup leader, Hong Zhang of China, who clocked 38.27 with just one race now remaining.

Ruslan Murashov continued Russian dominance in the corresponding men's event despite the absence of World Cup leader Pavel Kulizhnikov following a positive drugs test for meldonium.

Murashov was the only man to skate below 35 seconds with 34.96, enough to win by 0.09 over Dutch rival Ronald Mulder.

Kulizhnikov has 705 points and Murashov 585, with a possible 150 points to win in the final race on Sunday (March 13).

Gilmore Junio clocked 35.12 for the bronze medal.

Czech Republic's Martina Sábliková has guaranteed herself the overall 3,000m and 5,000m World Cup title after winning the opening five events.

She opted not to compete in Heerenveen, allowing Natalya Voronina to continue a good day for Russia with victory in 4min 08.15sec.

Natalya Voronina won in the absence of Martina Sábliková ©Getty Images
Natalya Voronina won in the absence of Martina Sábliková ©Getty Images

Dutch star Jorien Voorhuis came second in 4:08.18 with Olga Graf of Russia third in 4:08.40. 

There was more home success in the men's team pursuit when Jan Blokhuijsen, Douwe de Vries and Arjan Stroetinga combined to triumph in 3min 42.28sec.

After Stroetinga crashed in this season’s first team pursuit race in Calgary, the Dutch men won the remaining three team pursuit events in Inzell and twice in Heerenveen.

Norway's Håvard Bøkko, Sverre Lunde Pedersen and Simen Spieler Nilsen came second in 3:43.42 with Poland's Zbigniew Bródka, Jan Szymanski and Konrad Niedzwiedzki taking the bronze in 3:47.03. 

China's Jing Yu, Hong Zhang and Qishi Li claiming victory in the women's team sprint in 1:28.98 after beating Bo van der Werff, Janine Smit and Margot Boer of The Netherlands, who finished in 1:30.04.

Japan's Maki Tsuji, Erina Kamiya and Nao Kodaira set the third time in 1:29.98.