A total of eight Olympic gold medallists are among the 16 candidates for the six places available on the IAAF Athletes' Commission ©IAAF

A total of eight Olympic gold medallists are among the 16 nominations for the six available seats on the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Athletes' Commission.

Five of the eight are double Olympic gold medallists, including Russia's Yelena Isinbayeva, winner of the pole vault at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008, as well as a bronze at London 2012. 

The 33-year-old from Volgograd is the best-known of the names to have put themselves forward, having also set 28 world records and been voted IAAF Female Athlete of the Year three times. 

Another notable figure standing is New Zealand's Valerie Adams, winner of the shot put at Beijing 2008 and London 2012 and last year's IAAF Female Athlete of the Year.

Image title
Russia's two-time Olympic gold medallist and multiple world record holder Yelena Isinbayeva is the best-known name among those standing for the IAAF Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Other double Olympic gold medallists standing include Norway's Andreas Thorkildsen, winner of the javelin at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008.

Ezekiel Kemboi, the Kenyan who won the 3,000 metres steeplechase at Beijing 2008 and London 2012, is another candidate.

The list of double Olympic gold medallists is completed by Michael Frater, a member of the Jamaican 4x100m relay team that won at Beijing 2008 and London 2012. 

Other Olympic champions standing include Sweden's Christian Olsson and the Ukraine's Nataliia Dobrynska, gold medallists in the triple jump and heptathlon at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008 respectively. 

The final Olympic gold medallist who has been nominated is Japan's Koji Murofushi, the Athens 2004 hammer thrower, who also won a bronze at London 2012.

Murofushi, 40, is currently working as sports director for Tokyo 2020.

He will be hoping that this election ends more successfully then when he stood for the IOC Athletes' Commission at London 2012. 

Although Murofushi collected more than enough votes to be elected, he was disqualified by the IOC due to alleged inappropriate campaigning by the Japanese Olympic Committee during the Games.

He appealed unsuccessfully to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Image title
Athens 2004 gold medallist Koji Murofushi, now director of sport at Tokyo 2020, will hope the election for the IAAF Athletes' Commission ends less controversially than when he stood for the IOC ©Getty Images

Another interesting candidate is France's Mehdi Baala, the Beijing 2008 Olympic bronze medallist, who was suspended for 10 months and fined €1,500 (£1,100/$1,700) by the French Athletics Federation in 2011 after getting involved in a fight on the track with countryman Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad.

Other candidates include Qatar's Mutaz Essa Barshim, the London 2012 bronze medallist and the world's top-ranked high jumper last year, and Brazil's Fabiana Murer, the 2011 world pole vault champion.

Nigeria's double Commonwealth 100m and 200m champion Blessing Okagbare is standing.

Another former Commonwealth champion, Guyana's Aliann Pompey, winner of the 400m at Manchester 2002, is also among the nominations.

The remaining candidates are Luxembourg's 400m hurdler Jacques Frisch, Hungarian javelin thrower Vanda Juhász and Belarussian Alina Talay, the 2015 European indoor 60m hurdles gold medallist. 

All athletes accredited for IAAF World Championships in Beijing will have the right to vote in the elections, which will take place during the event  between August 23 and 29 in the official team hotels.

To be eligible for nomination, athletes must have participated in at least one of the past two editions of the IAAF World Championships or in the most recent Olympic Games or be a competitor at this year’s IAAF World Championships.

Image title
Ukraine's Nataliia Dobrynska, Olympic gold medallist in the heptathlon at Beijing 2008, is one of the leading names standing for the IAAF Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

The names of the six elected members of the Commission are due be announced before the end of the Championships and they will begin their mandate on 1 January next year.

“Athletes are a vital pillar in sports and should remain at the heart of the decision-making process in all sport governing bodies,” said Frankie Fredericks, chairman of the IAAF Athletes’ Commission.

“I have seen how the Athletes’ Commission has not only acted as a voice for athletes, but helped to provide improved opportunities to athletes. It is our sincere hope that the new team builds on the foundation that has been set by the current and past members.

“I wish all the 16 candidates all the best with the election process.”

Related stories
June 2013:
 Murofushi was "victim of an overzealous" Japanese Olympic Committee, CAS rules
May 2013: Olympic champion Murofushi loses CAS appeal over blocked IOC election
April 2013: Japanese Olympic gold medallist set for CAS hearing after IOC election blocked
September 2012: IOC election dispute heads for CAS
August 2012: IOC Athletes' Commission election takes new twist as emerges Japanese Olympic Committee warned