By Emily Goddard

IPC Athletics has published the Doha 2015 qualification criteria ©Getty ImagesA maximum of 1,400 athletes will compete at  the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships in Doha next year it was revealed when the qualification criteria for the competition was announced. 

The athletes will compete in 210 medal events  - 119 for men and 91 for women - at the Championships, due to take place in the Qatari capital from October 22 to 31 next year.

Nations are invited to enter a maximum of three eligible athletes per individual medal event and one team in each relay medal event comprising up to six athletes.

As a result, National Paralympic Committees are allocated a maximum of 48 male qualification slots and 32 female slots, with exceptions only being granted through the direct invitation method.

Doha will host the IPC Athletics World Championships from October 22 to 31, 2015 ©Getty ImagesDoha will host the IPC Athletics World Championships from October 22 to 31, 2015
©Getty Images

The qualification period is already underway, having started on January 1 this year, and will continue through to August 31 next year.

Once the deadline for final entries has passed on September 28, 2015, IPC athletics will then review the viability of each event.

Subject to the finalisation of the Rio 2016 Paralympics athletics event programme next April, IPC Athletics will make appropriate modifications to ensure that all Games events are mirrored and featured on the final Doha 2015 event programme.

The full qualification criteria can be read here

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
October 2014: 
Decision to move World Championship marathons from Doha to London nothing to do with heat, claims IPC
October 2014: Website for Doha 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships launched to mark year to event