By Gary Anderson

August 16 - USA paratriathlon team announcedUSA Triathlon has announced the Para-triathletes that will represent the country at the 2013 International Triathlon Union (ITU) Paratriathlon World Championships, taking place in London on September 13.

The 15-strong squad includes athletes who have combined for a total of 24 medals and 12 titles at World Championships since 2006, and also contains athletes who have represented the US at Paralympic Games in swimming, cycling and athletics.

Multiple world champions Megan Fisher, Beth Price, Aaron Scheidies, Melissa Stockwell and JP Theberge will be among those hoping to feature again in the podium positions in the race in Hyde Park on the same course used for last year's Olympics.

Fisher, the 2010 TRI-5 world champion, captured Paralympic gold in the individual cycling time trial at London 2012, while Stockwell is going for her fourth world title in the TRI-2 class following victories in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Melissa Stockwell celebrates her World Championship win in Auckland last yearMelissa Stockwell celebrates her World Championship win in Auckland last year

Theberge will have fond memories of London after the two-time TRI-5 world champion claimed victory at 2010 ITU World Championship Series event in the English capital.

Other world medallists in the squad include 2007 world champion and four-time medal winner David Kyle, two-time bronze medallist Patricia Walsh and Geoffrey Kennedy, who won bronze in 2012 in Auckland, who will be joined by triple US national champion Mark Barr and 2012 TRI-1 National Championship winner Erica Davis.

"We are proud to have such a strong U.S. team heading into ITU Paratriathlon World Championships next month," said chief executive of USA Triathlon, Rob Urbach.

"We look forward to more top performances in London from this talented group as we continue to expand our Para-triathlon high performance programme to better prepare athletes for the sport's debut at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro."

Paratriathlete Megan Fisher won individual pursuit gold at the London 2012 ParalympicsParatriathlete Megan Fisher won individual pursuit gold at the London 2012 Paralympics

The five remaining places on the US squad will be filled by debutants Diane Berberian, Tisa Cawthon, Chris Hammer, Jacqui Kapinowski and Krige Schabort, who along with the rest of their teammates earned their place on the squad for London at the 2013 USA Paratriathlon National Championships in May and the Challenged Athletes Foundation World Paratriathlon event in San Diego, in April.